Skip to Main Content

MUSIC: Oceania

Pacific Islands

Austronesian Soundscapes: Performing Arts in Oceania and Southeast Asia by Birgit Abels (Editor)
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Australia and the Pacific Islands
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 v. 9 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Making Waves: Traveling Musics in Hawai‘i, Asia, and the Pacific by Frederick Lau (Ed)
Call Number: ebook
Also available in the Hawaii & Pacific Collection, ML3917.A78 M35 2018
Music, Lapita, and the Problem of Polynesian Origins by Mervyn McLean
eBook
Music in Pacific Island Cultures: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture by Brian Diettrich; Jane Freeman Moulin; Michael Webb
Call Number: ML3774 .D54 2011 (Hawaii & Pacific Collection, 1st Flr)
Tongan Music by Richard Moyle
Call Number: ML3775.T65 M7 1987 (Hawaii & Pacific Collection, 1st Flr)
Traditional Samoan Music by Richard Moyle
Call Number: ML3770 .M795 1988 (Hawaii and Pacific Collection, 1st Flr)
Weavers of Song: Polynesian Music and Dance by Mervyn McLean
Call Number: ML360 .M28 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Australia

Austronesian Soundscapes by Birgit Abels (Editor)
Ch. 15: Australian Indigenous Choices of Repertoire in Community CDs/DVDs Recording and Reclaiming Torres Strait Islander Sacred and Secular Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Australia and the Pacific Islands
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 v. 9 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Making Waves: Traveling Musics in Hawai‘i, Asia, and the Pacific by Frederick Lau (Ed)
Call Number: ebook
Also available in the Hawaii & Pacific Collection, ML3917.A78 M35 2018
Singing Bones: Ancestral Creativity and Collaboration by Curkpatrick, Samuel

New Zealand

Austronesian SoundscapesPerforming Arts in Oceania and Southeast Asia by Birgit Abels (Editor)
Ch. 14: ‘To Sing is to be Happy’ The Dynamics of Contemporary Maori Musical Practices (Toon van Meijl)
Blue Smoke: The Lost Dawn of New Zealand Popular Music, 1918–1964 by Chris Bourke
Maori Action Songs by Alan Armstrong; Reupena Ngata
Call Number: M1840.A65 M4 1960 (Hawaii & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Maori Music by Mervyn McLean

Available in full text online from Ebook Central.
Maori music and culture in New Zealand. Report from studies at Waikato University in Hamilton, New Zealand, August 2001 [PDF] by Eriksson, Anitha
Music, Lapita, and the Problem of Polynesian Origins by Mervyn McLean
eBook
Ngā Mōteatea: An Introduction, He Kupu Arataki by Jane McRae; Hēni Jacob (Translator)
ebook
Pacific Art Niu Sila: the Pacific dimension of contemporary New Zealand arts Creator by Sean Mallon (Editor); Pandora Fulimalo Pereira (Editor)
Call Number: Hawaii and Pacific Collection (1st floor) NX593.A1 P33 2002