Skip to Main Content

Fiction Novels: Interesting Reads

Books at Kapiʻolani CC Library

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami; Jay Rubin and Philip Gabriel (Translators)
Call Number: PL856.U673 A61213 2011 (Japan Collection)
Find more writings from Murakami.
The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto; Michael Emmerich (Translator)
Call Number: PL865.O7138 M5913 2011 (Japan Collection)
Please Look after Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin; Chi-Young Kim (Translator)
Call Number: PL992.73.K94 O4613 2011 (General Collection)
Blindness by José Saramago; Giovanni Pontiero (Translator)
Call Number: PQ9281.A66 E6813 1999 (General Collection)
2010 by Arthur C. Clarke
Call Number: PR6005.L36 A616 1982 (General Collection)
The Chronicles of Narnia by Pauline Baynes; Pauline Baynes (Illustrator)
Call Number: PR6023 .E926 C475 2004 (General Collection)
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Call Number: PR6051.D3352 H5 1981 (Read Collection)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Call Number: PR6058.A26 C87 2004 (General Collection)
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
Call Number: PR6059.S5 R46 1989 (General Collection)
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
Call Number: PR6066.U44 H57 2007 (Read Collection)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling; Mary GrandPré (Illustrator)
Call Number: PR6068.O924 H36 1998 (Read Collection)
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Call Number: PR9199.3.M3855 L54 2003 (General Collection)
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Call Number: PR9619.4.Z87 B66 2006 (General Collection)
The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
Call Number: PS3552.R685434 D3 2003 (General Collection)
Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
Call Number: PS3553.A655 E5 1994 (General Collection)
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
Call Number: PS3554.I259 B75 2008b (General Collection)
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
Call Number: PS3555.G292 V57 2011 (General Collection)
Freedom by Jonathan Franzen
Call Number: PS3556.R352 F74 2010 (General Collection)
Neuromancer by William Gibson; Jack Womack (Afterword by)
Call Number: PS3557.I2264 N48 2004 (General Collection)
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
Call Number: PS3557.O35926 M45 1999 (General Collection)
It by Stephen King
Call Number: PS3561.I483 I8 1987 (General Collection)
A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
Call Number: PS3563.A7239 G36 2011b (General Collection)
More fiction by George R. R. Martin.
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
Call Number: PS3570.A48 J6 2006 (General Collection)
Leche by R. Zamora Linmark
Call Number: PS3576.A475 L43 2011 (General Collection)
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Call Number: PS3603.O4558 H87 2008 (General Collection)
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
Call Number: PS3606.O38 E97 2006 (General Collection)
The Tiger's Wife by Téa Obreht
Call Number: PS3615.B73 T54 2011b (General Collection)
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Call Number: PS3619.T636 H45 2009 (General Collection)
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson
Call Number: PT9876.22.A6933 L8413 2012 (General Collection)
Dune by Frank Herbert
Call Number: PZ4.H5356 Du 1982 (General Collection)
Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein
Call Number: PZ7.H368 Su (General Collection)
Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
Call Number: PS3573.A425635 I54 2006 (General Collection)

Classic Books at Kapiʻolani CC Library

Iliad by Homer
Call Number: PA4025.A2 R4 (General Collection)
Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand
Call Number: PQ2635.O7 C92 1951 (General Collection)
Beowulf by Seamus Heaney
Call Number: PR1583 .H43 2000 (General Collection)
Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift
Call Number: ebook
A Tale of Two Cities and Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
Call Number: PR4571 .A1 2010 (General Collection)
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Carroll, Lewis
Call Number: PR4611 A7 1941a (General Collection)
The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
Call Number: PR4621 1930 (General Collection)
Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
Call Number: PR6029.R8 N49 1949 (General Collection)
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H62 1982 (General Collection)
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
Call Number: PR6052.U638 C5 1986 (General Collection)
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Call Number: PS3511.I9 G7 2004 (General Collection)
The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac; Ann Douglas (Introduction by); Jason (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS3521.E735 D48 2006 (General Collection)
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle
Call Number: PS3523.E52 W75 1973 (Read Collection)
Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
Call Number: PS3535.A547 A79 1957 (General Collection)
The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
Call Number: PS3537.A426 C3 1991 (General Collection)
The Jungle by Upton Sinclair
Call Number: PS3537.I85 J8 1960 (General Collection)
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
Call Number: PS3558.E476 C3 2004 (General Collection)
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Call Number: PS3562.E353 T6 1960 (General Collection)
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
Call Number: PZ4 G63 Lo7 (General Collection)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey
Call Number: PZ4.K42 On (General Collection)
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Call Number: PS3503.R167 F3 2012 (General Collection)

Local Literature at Kapiʻolani CC Library

Growing up Local by Eric Chock (Editor); James R. Harstad (Editor); Darrell H. Lum (Editor); Bill Teter (Editor)
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.72 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Click to find more Hawaiʻi fiction.

Folks You Meet in Longs and Other Stories by Lee Cataluna
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.86 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Islands Linked By Ocean: Stories by Lisa Linn Kanae
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.93 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The short story "Islands Linked by Ocean" (pages 158-170) is also available online via Literary Reference Center Plus.
No Choice But to Follow by Jean Yamasaki Toyama ... [et al.]
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.96 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Three Years on Doreen's Sofa by Lee Cataluna
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.99 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Buss Laugh: Stand Up Poetry From Hawaiʻi by Lee Tonouchi (editor)
Call Number: PS571.H3 B87 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Honolulu by Alan Brennert
Call Number: PS3552.R3865 H66 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
An Offering of Rice by Mavis Hara
Call Number: PS3563.A31755 M56 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Mililani Mauka: The Lives of Two Families Collide in a Changing Honolulu by Chris McKinney
Call Number: PS3563.A31755 M56 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The Tattoo by Chris McKinney
Call Number: PS3563.A31755 T38 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
When the Shark Bites by Rodney Morales
Call Number: PS3563.O7594 W48 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
All I Asking for Is My Body by Milton Murayama; Franklin Odo (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3563.U723 A79 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Wild Meat and the Bully Burgers by Lois-Ann Yamanaka
Call Number: PS3575.A434 W55 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
The Descendants: A Novel by Kaui Hart Hemmings
Call Number: PS3608.E477 D47 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Tweakerville: Life and Death in Hawaiʻi's Ice World by Alexei Melnick
Call Number: PS3613.E4488 T84 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
If You Live in a Small House: A Story of 1950s Hawaiʻi by Sandra Park
Call Number: PS3616.A74365 I36 2010 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Last Updated: Mar 12, 2023 11:52 AM
URL: https://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/fiction
Print Page

Subjects: Miscellaneous