Skip to Main Content

Manga and Graphic Novels: Finding Resources

Manga Techniques

Manga Secrets by Lea Hernandez
Call Number: NC1764.5.J3 H47 2005 (General Collection)
Manga: The Ultimate Guide to Mastering Digital Painting Techniques
Call Number: N7433.8 M36 2011 (General Collection)
Mastering Manga by Mark Crilley
Call Number: NC1764.5.J3 C75 2012 (General Collection)
Webcomics 2.0: An Insider's Guide to Writing, Drawing, and Promoting Your Own Webcomics by Steve Horton, Sam Romero.
ebook
101 Top Tips from Professional Manga Artists by Sonia Leong; Hayden Scott-Baron
Call Number: NC1764.5.J3 L46 2013

Language & Literature

The Shark King: A Toon Book by Trade Loeffler; R. Kikuo Johnson
Call Number: PZ8.1.J642 Sh 2012 (Hawaiian Collection)
Japanese the Manga Way by Wayne P. Lammers
Call Number: PL539.3 .L36 2005 (Japan Collection)
Night Fisher by R. Kikuo Johnson
Call Number: PN6727.J54 N54 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)
Watchmen by Alan Moore; Dave Gibbons
Call Number: PN6737.M66 W38 2005b
The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Call Number: PN6747.S245 P4713 2007
The Graphic Canon by Russ Kick
Call Number: PN6714 .G735 2012 (General Collection)
Vol. 1: From the Epic of Gilgamesh to Shakespeare to Dangerous liaisons
Vol. 2: From Kubla Khan to the Bronte Sisters to the Picture of Dorian Gray
Vol. 3: From Heart of Darkness to Hemingway to Infinite Jest

History

Cartoon History of the Universe by Larry Gonick
Call Number: D21.1 .G66 1990 (General Collection)
Maus (v. 1-2) by Art Spiegelman
Call Number: D810.J4 S643 1986 (Read Collection)
MetaMaus by Art Spiegelman
Call Number: PN6727.S6 Z465 2011 (General Collection)
The Cartoon History of the Modern World by Larry Gonick
Call Number: D208 .G57 2009 (General Collection)
The Cartoon History of the Modern World by Larry Gonick
Call Number: D208 .G57 2007 (General Collection)
Vietnamerica by G. B. Tran
Call Number: E184.V53 T734 2010 (General Collection)
Hiroshima: The Autobiography of Barefoot Gen by Nakazawa Keiji
Call Number: NC1709.N26 A2 2010
The United States Constitution by Jonathan Hennessey; Aaron McConnell (Illustrator)
Call Number: E303 .H46 2008
Showa, 1926-1939: A History of Japan by Shigeru Mizuki
Call Number: DS888.5 M5913 2013 (Japan Collection)
Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths by Shigeru Mizuki; Jocelyne Allen (Translator)
Call Number: PN6790.J33 M59914 2011 (Japan Collection)

Science & Techonology

Cartoon Guide to Physics by Larry Gonick
Call Number: QC24.5 G66 1991 (General Collection)
The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry by Larry Gonick; Craig Criddle
Call Number: QD37 .G625 2005 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Databases by Mana Takahashi; Shoko Azuma
Call Number: QA76.9.D3 T34 2009 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Electricity by Kazuhiro Fujitaki
Call Number: QC527 .F8513 2009 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Molecular Biology by Masaharu Takemura; Sakura
Call Number: QH506 .T3513 2009 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Physics by Hideo Nitta; Keita Takatsu
Call Number: QC24.5 .N5813 2009 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Relativity by Masafumi Yamamoto; Keita Takatsu; Hideo Nitta
Call Number: QC173.57 .N5813 2011(General Collection)
The Manga Guide to the Universe by Kenji Ishikawa; Yutaka Hiiragi; Kiyoshi Kawabata
Call Number: QB982 .I8513 2011 (General Collection)

Math

Cartoon Guide to Statistics by Larry Gonick; Woollcott Smith
Call Number: QA276.12 .G67 1993 (General Collection)
The Cartoon Introduction to Statistics by Grady Klein; Alan Dabney
Call Number: QA276 .K544 2013
The Manga Guide to Calculus by Hiroyuki Kojima; Shin Togami
Call Number: QA300 .K57513 2009 (General Collection)
The Manga Guide to Statistics by Shin Takahashi
Call Number: QA276 .T228 2009 (General Collection)

Other Topics

Economix: How Our Economy Works (and Doesn't Work) in Words and Pictures by Michael Goodwin
Call Number: HB171 .G62 2012 (General Collection)
The Adventures of Johnny Bunko by Daniel H. Pink; Rob Ten Pas (Illustrator)
Call Number: HF5381 .P545 2008
Plato for Beginners by Robert Cavalier; Eric Lurio (Illustrator)
Call Number: B395 .C36 2007
Psychiatric Tales by Darryl Cunningham
Call Number: RC454.4 .C86 2011 (General Collection)
The Dirt Candy Cookbook: Flavor-Forward Food From the Upstart New York City Vegetarian Restaurant by Ryan Dunlavey; Grady Hendrix; Amanda Cohen
Call Number: TX837 .C543 2012 (General Collection)
Oishinbo, A La Carte: Japanese Cuisine by Tetsu Kariya & Akira Hanasaki; Tetsuichiro Miyaki (Translator)
Call Number: PN6790.J34 O3813 2009 (Japan Collection)

Featured Resource

Vietnamerica - G. B. Tran
Call Number: E184.V53 T734 2010 (General Collection)

DVDs

Mononoke Hime (Princess Mononoke)
Call Number: KDVD 258
My Neighbor Totoro by Hayao Miyazaki
Call Number: KDVD 257 (AV/Media Collection)

Spirited Away
Call Number: KDVD 259
Hotaru no Haka (Grave of the Fireflies)
Call Number: KDVD 256

Books at other UH Libraries

Waltz with Bashir by Ari Folman; David Polonsky
Call Number: DS87.53 .F65 2009 (UH Hilo: General Collection)

To get books from other UH Libraries:

Go to that library in person, or
Click on "Get This Item" in the library catalog to have books sent to KCC.

Anya's Ghost by Vera Brosgol
Call Number: PN6727.B757 A59 2011 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
The Contract with God Trilogy by Will Eisner; Will Eisner
Call Number: PN6727.E4 A6 2006 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Beowulf by Gareth Hinds (Adapted by, Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.H53 B46 2007 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Hand-Drying in America and Other Stories by Ben Katchor
Call Number: PN6727.K28 H36 2013 (Leeward CC: Oversized Book)
Genius by Steven T. Seagle; Teddy Kristiansen (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.S43 G46 2013 (Windward CC: Read Collection)
Blankets by Craig Thompson
Call Number: PN6727.T48 B58 2003 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Habibi by Craig Thompson
Call Number: PN6727.T48 H33 2011 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Call Number: PN6727.Y36 A54 2009 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang
Call Number: PN6727.Y36 B68 2013 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
The Eternal Smile by Gene Luen Yang; Derek Kirk Kim (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.Y36 E83 2009 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Jerusalem: Chronicles from the Holy City by Guy Delisle
Call Number: PN6733.D44 C4913 2012 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen; Seth Grahame-Smith; Tony Lee (Adapted by); Cliff Richards (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6737.L44 P75 2010 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
ISBN: 9780345520685
Henry V the Graphic Novel by William Shakespeare (original text); John McDonald (script adaptation)
Call Number: PN6737.M33 H45 2008 (UH Manoa: Hamilton)
From Hell by Alan Moore; Eddie Campbell (Artist)
Call Number: PN6737.M6 F7 2006 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
The Adventures of Tintin by Hergé
Call Number: PN6790.B43 A9413 2009 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Daytripper by Gabriel Ba; Fabio Moon
Call Number: PN6790.B63 M66 2011 (Maui College: General Collection)
The Property by Rutu Modan
Call Number: PN6790.I73 M6313 2013 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Barefoot Gen by Keiji Nakazawa
Call Number: PN6790.J33 N3313 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
A Bride's Story by Kaoru Mori
Call Number: PN6790.J34 B753 2011 (Maui College: General Collection)
Kari by Amruta Patil
Call Number: PR9499.4.P38 K375 2008 (UH Manoa: Hamilton Asia)
Forget Sorrow by Belle Yang
Call Number: PS3575.A53 Z46 2011 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Skim by Mariko Tamaki (Created by); Jillian Tamaki (Created by)
Call Number: PZ7.7.T35 Sk 2010 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Feynman by Jim Ottaviani; Leland Myrick
Call Number: QC16.F49 O88 2011 (UH Manoa: Hamilton)
ISBN: 1596432594
Charles Darwin's on the Origin of Species by Michael Keller; Nicolle Rager Fuller (Illustrator)
Call Number: QH367 .K466 2009 (UH Manoa: Hamilton)
DNA by Israel Rosenfield; Borin Van Loon; Edward Ziff
Call Number: QP624 .R67 2011 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Publication Date: 2011-01-26