Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

Looking for some summer STEM reading, but don't feel like coming into the library? Checkout these E-resources!

EJournals

The library has picked up a recent subscription to Pacific Science published by University of Hawaiʻi Press. Pacific Science is published quarterly, and dedicated to the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific region. It is the official journal of the Pacific Science Association which focuses on biogeography, ecology, evolution, geology and volcanology, oceanography, paleontology, and systematics. Recent print issues are also available at the library on the 1st floor, in the Hawaiʻi Pacific collection. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to vol. 55 (2001), here 

• You can access issues from the very first issue in volume 1, issue no.1, from 1947 through volume 65, issue 4, from 2011, in UHM's ScholarSpace. 

The library continues to subscribe to AAAS' Science. Founded in 1880 with seed money from Thomas Edison, Science features articles from across the sciences. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to 1997, here.

• You can access issues from 1880 (vol. 1, no. 1) through issues 6 years back from the current year (rolling archive). 

Oxford University Press' Sleep, is an international journal dedicated to sleep and circadian science. It is the official publication of the Sleep Research Society (SRS). 

• You can access issues available from 1996 - present. 

Databases

ScienceDirect is ElSevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.

JSTOR features articles in the life sciences and includes special resources for Sustainability. Science and mathematics are also included along with many humanities and social sciences articles. See the subject list here. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries recently gained access to JSTOR during the Spring 2022 semester. Read this earlier blog post for more info. 

Happy Reading!

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to over 2,000 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. There are also many images you can use in your research within. Kapiʻolani CC Library has access to the following collections: 

• Arts & Sciences I - XV
• Life Sciences

You can browse titles by subject or browse by title.

Check out special collections: 

• Sustainability
• Security Studies

If you're interested in analyzing text you can try the Text Analyzer tool which has cool features that lets you drag and drop a document (or paste article text into the search field) in order to search for related articles on JSTOR. 

You can also check out JSTOR Labs' Projects page, which features projects such as: the Plant Humanities Lab, where you can "explore the cultural histories of plants and their influence on human societies."

Check out the JSTOR Understanding Series which helps link original works to scholarship by selecting text and passages from works by writers such as Shakespeare, Frederick Douglass, Walt Whitman, Mary Shelley, the U.S. Constitution, speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., and more; and connecting them to articles which have referenced these works.  

The Library is pleased to announce that the University of Hawaiʻi's 10-campus system now has access to JSTOR, thanks to the efforts of UH Mānoa's University Librarian, Clem Guthro.