Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

The Library has entered into a trial of Artstor, running through the end of the Fall 2022 semester: December 16, 2022. 

What is Artstor? 

Artstor is a database that features over 2 million images from museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists, which have all been cleared for educational and research use. "Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource" (Artstor, n.d.). During the trial, Artstor images will also appear directly through image searching within JSTOR. 

To take advantage of all the features Artstor has to offer during the trial, you will need to create a personal account. Please keep in mind the library is participating in a temporary trial, and the Library cannot guarantee this will become a permanent resource. See the video below for instructions on creating a personal account. Note: You are not required to subscribe to newsletters and promotions or surveys in order to create a login. 

How to Register for an Artstor Account

You can also check out the LibGuide: Artstor Across Disciplines to see how you can incorporate Artstor into your curriculum. 

Explore Collections in Artstor

Not sure where to begin your browsing? There are a number of different collections in Artstor for your perusal. 

Please let us know what you think of Artstor!

Please check out Artstor, and let us know how you feel about it! Whether you are a student, faculty, or staff member, we would appreciate your feedback on this resource! You can email kapccref@hawaii.edu and let us know if you would like the library to subscribe to this resource. Or, quickly submit feedback via our ARTSTOR Trial Feedback Google Form.

Questions? 

Contact the Library at:
☎️ (808) 734-9359,
📧 kapccref@hawaii.edu,
💬 or chat with us online through this site by clicking the orange tab on the upper-right!

References

Artstor. (n.d.). About Artstor. Artstor. https://www.artstor.org/about.

Looking for some summer STEM reading, but don't feel like coming into the library? Checkout these E-resources!

EJournals

The library has picked up a recent subscription to Pacific Science published by University of Hawaiʻi Press. Pacific Science is published quarterly, and dedicated to the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific region. It is the official journal of the Pacific Science Association which focuses on biogeography, ecology, evolution, geology and volcanology, oceanography, paleontology, and systematics. Recent print issues are also available at the library on the 1st floor, in the Hawaiʻi Pacific collection. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to vol. 55 (2001), here 

• You can access issues from the very first issue in volume 1, issue no.1, from 1947 through volume 65, issue 4, from 2011, in UHM's ScholarSpace. 

The library continues to subscribe to AAAS' Science. Founded in 1880 with seed money from Thomas Edison, Science features articles from across the sciences. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to 1997, here.

• You can access issues from 1880 (vol. 1, no. 1) through issues 6 years back from the current year (rolling archive). 

Oxford University Press' Sleep, is an international journal dedicated to sleep and circadian science. It is the official publication of the Sleep Research Society (SRS). 

• You can access issues available from 1996 - present. 

Databases

ScienceDirect is ElSevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.

JSTOR features articles in the life sciences and includes special resources for Sustainability. Science and mathematics are also included along with many humanities and social sciences articles. See the subject list here. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries recently gained access to JSTOR during the Spring 2022 semester. Read this earlier blog post for more info. 

Happy Reading!

Yo, STEM people!

I got three things to help you stay sharp under lockdown. Enough with searching Youtube for video help. I got you.

First up, we’re kickin’ it old school, getting wicked smaht with MIT Press Direct. That’s Massachusetts Institute of Technology, kid! If you haven’t heard of them, I feel sorry for you. If you say Good Will Hunting is one of your favorite flicks and you still don’t remember, was it your memory that also got a beat down at the pahk? No worries. The stuff from MIT Press can fix that.

Neuroscience. Math. Physics. Psychology. Environmental Studies. They got full e-books and e-book chapters all devoted to these subjects.

They even got some other stuff focused on things like Art, Information Science, Linguistics, New Media, Social Science and Urbanism.

They even have a book on WEED.

Yeah, that kind of weed.

Check out Craft Weed: Family Farming and the Future of the Marijuana Industry for Ryan Stoa’s argument on how weed can be done small batch, local, and sustainable like Mom and Pop joints dealing tomatoes and papaya at your local farmers market.

Pass the e-book on the left-hand side?

OK…. OK, I know weed doesn’t do it for everybody. Reading as well.

So let’s go video instead. ​

JoVE Science Education is another helpful tool if you are taking a STEM class.

With over 12,000 video tutorials covering the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Environmental Sciences and more, JoVE Science Education can help clarify your professor’s lecture, add a second take, or even give you a sneak peak at what comes next in the field.

They also have Lab Manuals for Chemistry and Biology. (Check out the green Science Education box on the upper right-hand side.) I never knew how a laminar flow hood worked, but after watching An Introduction to Working in the Hood, now I know.

And yes, that’s the actual title for the video. Who said scientists don’t have a sense of humor?

Last up is for the specialist, someone who might be a future doctor, historian, or someone who might want to study and practice foreign policy in the Middle East.

Focusing on how the Middle East has influenced the West, the award-winning Arcadian Library Online may be of interest to you.

Containing books, letters, pamphlets, and art, the Arcadian Library Online is searchable in English and Arabic.

The options before you are all packed and ready.

LIGHT ‘EM UP!

MIT Press Direct available until May 31.
JoVE Science Education available until June 15.
Arcadian Online Library available until July 5.

Physiology, Fitness, Health, Nutrition, Sports and Exercise

Wishing you had a place to learn how to improve the athletic ability and performance of yourself, your client, or your team, before, during and after competing? 

How do you train, fuel, and heal to meet your specific goals?

Human Kinetics Library offers a variety of e-books and videos focused on improving athletic performance. Whether you are looking to improve upon a specific sport (e.g. basketball), increase mental or physical strength, rehabilitate an injury, or even learn how to compete as you age, these skills and more can be found here. 

Searchable by sport/activity or topic this database is currently available now through July 5. 
 

Looking for Books?

Need a book from one of the University of Hawaii’s libraries but don’t want to go out? 

Try checking HathiTrust Digital Library before masking up. 

If a book is currently offered in one of UH’s libraries and is available in the HathiTrust Digital Library, you can access the item you want for a one-hour period. (You can renew the item for another hour as long as no one else is waiting to use it.) 

Items can be viewed via scanned e-book, .pdf or text-only. Items can also be downloaded by page, group of pages, or as an entire book depending on its copyright status. 
 

Available now until May 31. 
 

Theater
 

We were somewhere in April one month into being locked down when the fear began to take hold. I remember saying something like "I still haven’t gotten a monologue; I wish the library was still open...” And suddenly there was a terrible roar all around us like a dial-up modem and the sky was full of play bills and scripts like huge bats, all swooping and screeching and diving around the car, which was going about a hundred miles an hour with the top down to Kaimuki.

Ideal for students in the THEA 221 (Intro to Acting) and various ART classes focused on animation and film, Screen Studies and Drama Online offers students the ability to access monologues, playbills, screenplays, film and theater criticism, and audio recordings. Both databases are searchable by name of work, actor, and genre.  
 

Both databases are available now through July 5.