Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to over 2,000 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. There are also many images you can use in your research within. Kapiʻolani CC Library has access to the following collections: 

• Arts & Sciences I - XV
• Life Sciences

You can browse titles by subject or browse by title.

Check out special collections: 

• Sustainability
• Security Studies

If you're interested in analyzing text you can try the Text Analyzer tool which has cool features that lets you drag and drop a document (or paste article text into the search field) in order to search for related articles on JSTOR. 

You can also check out JSTOR Labs' Projects page, which features projects such as: the Plant Humanities Lab, where you can "explore the cultural histories of plants and their influence on human societies."

Check out the JSTOR Understanding Series which helps link original works to scholarship by selecting text and passages from works by writers such as Shakespeare, Frederick Douglass, Walt Whitman, Mary Shelley, the U.S. Constitution, speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., and more; and connecting them to articles which have referenced these works.  

The Library is pleased to announce that the University of Hawaiʻi's 10-campus system now has access to JSTOR, thanks to the efforts of UH Mānoa's University Librarian, Clem Guthro. 

Whether you are researching a topic for a class or researching a topic for yourself, Bloomsbury’s electronic databases have got you covered!

Culinary students can peruse the Bloomsbury Food Library to learn how to make Coke from scratch or even see a menu from the theatrically-inspired The Bistro at Kapiʻolani Community College. 
 

Anthropology, Family Resources, and Philosophy students may take note of the Bloomsbury databases focused on Cultural History, Education and Childhood Studies and Philosophers. How do countries around the world view early childhood education? How do they view death and dying? What does it mean to live a good life? 
 

Art and aesthetically-inclined students will find inspiration in the Bloomsbury databases focusing on Applied Visual Arts, Architecture, Design, Fashion, and Popular Music. What makes something catch your eye, your ear, your heart - and how can you, in turn, create something that does the same to others? 
 

Last, but not least, is the Bloomsbury Collections which contains e-books covering all the topics in the aforementioned databases, plus other topics including Literary Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, and Biblical Studies and Theology. (For more on the Biblical Studies and Theology, also check out Bloomsbury’s database, Theology & Religion Online.)
 

All databases available now until July 5.