Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

Next time you are on campus check out the SHARE SEEDS station near the reference desk. SHARE SEEDS is a project started by Gaye Chan that encourages people to share and save non-GMO seeds. These seeds are free for everyone to use, and every year they will produce more seeds that others can grow and harvest. You can take some seeds and bring seeds back to re-share with others if you wish. We currently have: basil, beans. chile, daikon, dill, green onions, kale, luffa (Chinese okra), papaya, radish, saluyot, soursop, spinach, and tomato. For more info check out Eating in Public.

OK, so why the 3 links and separate dates?

     Long story short, the two most popular daily newspapers in the Honolulu area -- The Honolulu Advertiser and The Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- merged in 2010 to become The Honolulu Star-Advertiser. As such, each newspaper has different coverage dates, and even when the dates overlap, the content and stories vary because they were separate newspapers.

Here's an example: say you're looking for Merrie Monarch results for the past 20 years.

• When you search the current newspaper, The Honolulu Star-Advertiser [bit.ly/PQstar-adv], you would find Merrie Monarch results for this year and the prior 11 years. Remember, though, you're looking for 20 years' worth of festival results...
  
• So you go to the next newspaper on the list, The Honolulu Advertiser [bit.ly/PQhnladv], and start by locating Merrie Monarch Results for 2009, but then you realize the points breakdown is missing...
• Something tells you to check The Honolulu Star-Bulletin [bit.ly/PQstar-bull], and you're in luck! The Honolulu Star-Bulletin's Merrie Monarch Festival results for 2009 do include the points each hālau was awarded in the hula competition.

Try it out for yourself!

Whether you are researching a topic for a class or researching a topic for yourself, Bloomsbury’s electronic databases have got you covered!

Culinary students can peruse the Bloomsbury Food Library to learn how to make Coke from scratch or even see a menu from the theatrically-inspired The Bistro at Kapiʻolani Community College. 
 

Anthropology, Family Resources, and Philosophy students may take note of the Bloomsbury databases focused on Cultural History, Education and Childhood Studies and Philosophers. How do countries around the world view early childhood education? How do they view death and dying? What does it mean to live a good life? 
 

Art and aesthetically-inclined students will find inspiration in the Bloomsbury databases focusing on Applied Visual Arts, Architecture, Design, Fashion, and Popular Music. What makes something catch your eye, your ear, your heart - and how can you, in turn, create something that does the same to others? 
 

Last, but not least, is the Bloomsbury Collections which contains e-books covering all the topics in the aforementioned databases, plus other topics including Literary Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, and Biblical Studies and Theology. (For more on the Biblical Studies and Theology, also check out Bloomsbury’s database, Theology & Religion Online.)
 

All databases available now until July 5.