Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

The Library has entered into a trial of Artstor, running through the end of the Fall 2022 semester: December 16, 2022. 

What is Artstor? 

Artstor is a database that features over 2 million images from museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists, which have all been cleared for educational and research use. "Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource" (Artstor, n.d.). During the trial, Artstor images will also appear directly through image searching within JSTOR. 

To take advantage of all the features Artstor has to offer during the trial, you will need to create a personal account. Please keep in mind the library is participating in a temporary trial, and the Library cannot guarantee this will become a permanent resource. See the video below for instructions on creating a personal account. Note: You are not required to subscribe to newsletters and promotions or surveys in order to create a login. 

How to Register for an Artstor Account

You can also check out the LibGuide: Artstor Across Disciplines to see how you can incorporate Artstor into your curriculum. 

Explore Collections in Artstor

Not sure where to begin your browsing? There are a number of different collections in Artstor for your perusal. 

Please let us know what you think of Artstor!

Please check out Artstor, and let us know how you feel about it! Whether you are a student, faculty, or staff member, we would appreciate your feedback on this resource! You can email kapccref@hawaii.edu and let us know if you would like the library to subscribe to this resource. Or, quickly submit feedback via our ARTSTOR Trial Feedback Google Form.

Questions? 

Contact the Library at:
☎️ (808) 734-9359,
📧 kapccref@hawaii.edu,
💬 or chat with us online through this site by clicking the orange tab on the upper-right!

References

Artstor. (n.d.). About Artstor. Artstor. https://www.artstor.org/about.

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to over 2,000 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. There are also many images you can use in your research within. Kapiʻolani CC Library has access to the following collections: 

• Arts & Sciences I - XV
• Life Sciences

You can browse titles by subject or browse by title.

Check out special collections: 

• Sustainability
• Security Studies

If you're interested in analyzing text you can try the Text Analyzer tool which has cool features that lets you drag and drop a document (or paste article text into the search field) in order to search for related articles on JSTOR. 

You can also check out JSTOR Labs' Projects page, which features projects such as: the Plant Humanities Lab, where you can "explore the cultural histories of plants and their influence on human societies."

Check out the JSTOR Understanding Series which helps link original works to scholarship by selecting text and passages from works by writers such as Shakespeare, Frederick Douglass, Walt Whitman, Mary Shelley, the U.S. Constitution, speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., and more; and connecting them to articles which have referenced these works.  

The Library is pleased to announce that the University of Hawaiʻi's 10-campus system now has access to JSTOR, thanks to the efforts of UH Mānoa's University Librarian, Clem Guthro. 

Yo, STEM people!

I got three things to help you stay sharp under lockdown. Enough with searching Youtube for video help. I got you.

First up, we’re kickin’ it old school, getting wicked smaht with MIT Press Direct. That’s Massachusetts Institute of Technology, kid! If you haven’t heard of them, I feel sorry for you. If you say Good Will Hunting is one of your favorite flicks and you still don’t remember, was it your memory that also got a beat down at the pahk? No worries. The stuff from MIT Press can fix that.

Neuroscience. Math. Physics. Psychology. Environmental Studies. They got full e-books and e-book chapters all devoted to these subjects.

They even got some other stuff focused on things like Art, Information Science, Linguistics, New Media, Social Science and Urbanism.

They even have a book on WEED.

Yeah, that kind of weed.

Check out Craft Weed: Family Farming and the Future of the Marijuana Industry for Ryan Stoa’s argument on how weed can be done small batch, local, and sustainable like Mom and Pop joints dealing tomatoes and papaya at your local farmers market.

Pass the e-book on the left-hand side?

OK…. OK, I know weed doesn’t do it for everybody. Reading as well.

So let’s go video instead. ​

JoVE Science Education is another helpful tool if you are taking a STEM class.

With over 12,000 video tutorials covering the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Environmental Sciences and more, JoVE Science Education can help clarify your professor’s lecture, add a second take, or even give you a sneak peak at what comes next in the field.

They also have Lab Manuals for Chemistry and Biology. (Check out the green Science Education box on the upper right-hand side.) I never knew how a laminar flow hood worked, but after watching An Introduction to Working in the Hood, now I know.

And yes, that’s the actual title for the video. Who said scientists don’t have a sense of humor?

Last up is for the specialist, someone who might be a future doctor, historian, or someone who might want to study and practice foreign policy in the Middle East.

Focusing on how the Middle East has influenced the West, the award-winning Arcadian Library Online may be of interest to you.

Containing books, letters, pamphlets, and art, the Arcadian Library Online is searchable in English and Arabic.

The options before you are all packed and ready.

LIGHT ‘EM UP!

MIT Press Direct available until May 31.
JoVE Science Education available until June 15.
Arcadian Online Library available until July 5.

Whether you are researching a topic for a class or researching a topic for yourself, Bloomsbury’s electronic databases have got you covered!

Culinary students can peruse the Bloomsbury Food Library to learn how to make Coke from scratch or even see a menu from the theatrically-inspired The Bistro at Kapiʻolani Community College. 
 

Anthropology, Family Resources, and Philosophy students may take note of the Bloomsbury databases focused on Cultural History, Education and Childhood Studies and Philosophers. How do countries around the world view early childhood education? How do they view death and dying? What does it mean to live a good life? 
 

Art and aesthetically-inclined students will find inspiration in the Bloomsbury databases focusing on Applied Visual Arts, Architecture, Design, Fashion, and Popular Music. What makes something catch your eye, your ear, your heart - and how can you, in turn, create something that does the same to others? 
 

Last, but not least, is the Bloomsbury Collections which contains e-books covering all the topics in the aforementioned databases, plus other topics including Literary Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, and Biblical Studies and Theology. (For more on the Biblical Studies and Theology, also check out Bloomsbury’s database, Theology & Religion Online.)
 

All databases available now until July 5.