Kapiʻolani CC Library Spotlight

OK, so why the 3 links and separate dates?

     Long story short, the two most popular daily newspapers in the Honolulu area -- The Honolulu Advertiser and The Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- merged in 2010 to become The Honolulu Star-Advertiser. As such, each newspaper has different coverage dates, and even when the dates overlap, the content and stories vary because they were separate newspapers.

Here's an example: say you're looking for Merrie Monarch results for the past 20 years.

• When you search the current newspaper, The Honolulu Star-Advertiser [bit.ly/PQstar-adv], you would find Merrie Monarch results for this year and the prior 11 years. Remember, though, you're looking for 20 years' worth of festival results...
  
• So you go to the next newspaper on the list, The Honolulu Advertiser [bit.ly/PQhnladv], and start by locating Merrie Monarch Results for 2009, but then you realize the points breakdown is missing...
• Something tells you to check The Honolulu Star-Bulletin [bit.ly/PQstar-bull], and you're in luck! The Honolulu Star-Bulletin's Merrie Monarch Festival results for 2009 do include the points each hālau was awarded in the hula competition.

Try it out for yourself!

Looking for some summer STEM reading, but don't feel like coming into the library? Checkout these E-resources!

EJournals

The library has picked up a recent subscription to Pacific Science published by University of Hawaiʻi Press. Pacific Science is published quarterly, and dedicated to the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific region. It is the official journal of the Pacific Science Association which focuses on biogeography, ecology, evolution, geology and volcanology, oceanography, paleontology, and systematics. Recent print issues are also available at the library on the 1st floor, in the Hawaiʻi Pacific collection. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to vol. 55 (2001), here 

• You can access issues from the very first issue in volume 1, issue no.1, from 1947 through volume 65, issue 4, from 2011, in UHM's ScholarSpace. 

The library continues to subscribe to AAAS' Science. Founded in 1880 with seed money from Thomas Edison, Science features articles from across the sciences. 

• You can access the most current issues going back to 1997, here.

• You can access issues from 1880 (vol. 1, no. 1) through issues 6 years back from the current year (rolling archive). 

Oxford University Press' Sleep, is an international journal dedicated to sleep and circadian science. It is the official publication of the Sleep Research Society (SRS). 

• You can access issues available from 1996 - present. 

Databases

ScienceDirect is ElSevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.

JSTOR features articles in the life sciences and includes special resources for Sustainability. Science and mathematics are also included along with many humanities and social sciences articles. See the subject list here. The University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries recently gained access to JSTOR during the Spring 2022 semester. Read this earlier blog post for more info. 

Happy Reading!