Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Ahupuaʻa: An Introduction: Home

Books on the Ahupuaʻa & Hawaiian cultural practices

Life in Early Hawaiʻi: The Ahupuaʻa by Hawaiian Studies Institute Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: DU624 .L54 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Resource Units in Hawaiian Culture by Donald D. Kilolani Mitchell
Call Number: DU625.8 .M58 1992 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
From the Mountains to the Sea: Early Hawaiian Life
Call Number: DU624.65 .W54 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via Ulukau.
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Arts and Crafts of Hawaii by Te Rangi Hiroa (Peter H. Buck)
Call Number: DU624.7 .B75 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

Also available online via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Arts and Crafts of Hawaii by Te Rangi Hiroa (Peter H. Buck)
Call Number: DU624.7.H3 B75 2024 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)

This 2024 reprint "features newly rescanned photos and art prints— a significant improvement in image quality— restoration of the original foreword, dust jacket design, and endpapers, and new front matter with gorgeous new portraits of the author."

AVAKonohiki.org: ʻAhupuaʻa and ʻIli names. historic maps

Mokupuni - Island

Moku - Districts or sections of an island

Ahupuaʻa - Land division usually extending from the uplands to the sea

ʻIli - Land section, usually a subdivision of an ahupuaʻa

Ahupuaʻa video & website from Kumukahi.org

Ahupuaʻa poster (Kamehameha Schools)

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)