Skip to Main Content

iCAN - Job Application Process: Home

Module Resources

Self Exploration

Values and Positive Psychology

Mindfulness

Time Management

Habits of Mind

Effective Communication

Cultural Sensitivity

Ethics in the Workplace

Job Application Process

Interview Techniques

Self Care and Healthy Boundaries

Books from KCC

What Color is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers by Richard Bolles
Call Number: HF5383 .B56 (General Collection)
Choose on Purpose for TwentySomethings: Finding the Work You Love, Places to Grow, People Who Care by Susan Berg
Call Number: HF5381 .B3638 2009 (General Collection)
Creating Your Culinary Career by Ronald Hayes
Call Number: TX911.3.V62 H39 2014 (General Collection)
ACSM's Career and Business Guide for the Fitness Professional by Neal Pire
Call Number: GV481.4 .P57 2013 (General Collection)
A Man's Guide to a Nursing Career by Chad E. O'Lynn
Call Number: RT83 .O59 2013 (General Collection)
Career Opportunities Working with Animals by Shelly Field
Call Number: SF756.28 .F54 2012 (General Collection)
Career Opportunities in Animation by Jeff Lenburg; Bob Kurtz
Call Number: NC1765 .L355 2012 (General Collection)
Good Green Jobs in a Global Economy by David J. Hess
ebook
Nontraditional Careers for Women and Men by Andrew Morkes; Amy McKenna
Call Number: HD6058 .M75 2012 (General Collection)
Theater Careers: A Realistic Guide by Tim Donahue; Jim Patterson
Call Number: PN2074 .D66 2012 (General Collection)
The Google Résumé: How to Prepare for a Career and Land a Job at Apple, Microsoft, Google, or Any Top Tech Company by Gayle Laakmann McDowell
Call Number: HF5383 .M335 2011 (General Collection)
Gallery of Best Cover Letters: A Collection of Quality Cover Letters by Professional Resume Writers by David Noble
Call Number: HF5383 .N618 2012 (General Collection)
Gallery of Best Resumes: A Collection of Quality Resumes by Professional Resume Writers by David F. Noble
Call Number: F5383 .N62 2012 (General Collection)
Unbeatable Resumes: America's Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired by Tony Beshara; Phil McGraw (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5383 .B4335 2011 (General Collection)
Gallery of Best Resumes for People Without a Four-Year Degree by David F. Noble
Call Number: HF5383 .N622 2009 (General Collection)
Resume Writing Made Easy: A Practical Guide to Resume Preparation and Job Search by Lola Brown
Call Number: HF5383 .C69 2007 (General Collection)
Job Search Letters for Dummies by Joyce Lain Kennedy
ebook
Job Searching with Social Media for Dummies by Joshua Waldman
ebook
How to Land a Top-Paying Federal Job: Your Complete Guide to Opportunities, Internships, Resumes and Cover Letters, Application Essays (KSAs), Interviews, Salaries, Promotions, and More! by Lily Whiteman
Call Number: JK692 .W45 2008 (Oversize Collection)

Books from other campuses

This Is How to Get Your Next Job: An Inside Look at What Employers Really Want by Andrea Kay
Call Number: HF5382.7 .K39 2013 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
The Career Coaching Handbook by Julia Yates
Call Number: HF5381 .Y3745 2014 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
Teaching the Museum: Careers in Museum Education by Leah M. Melber (Editor)
Call Number: AM7 .T43 2014 (General Collection)
The Young Professional: A Real World Survival Guide for the New College Graduate by Andy J. Semotiuk
Call Number: HF5381 .S46 2014 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
101 Careers in Health Care Management by Friedman Leonard
Call Number: RA971 .F745 2013 (UH Hilo: General Collection)
Becoming a Successful Illustrator by Jo Davies; Derek Brazell
Call Number: NC1001 .B73 2013 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
The Complete Guide to Finding a Job for Individuals with Asperger Syndrome by Barbara A. Bissonnette
Call Number: RC553.A88 B57 2013 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
The Job Search Checklist: Everything You Need to Know to Get Back to Work After a Layoff by Damian Birkel
Call Number: HF5382.7 .B557 2014 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
Cracking the New Job Market by R. William Holland; Barbara Ehrenreich (Foreword by)
Call Number: HF5382.75.U6 H65 2012 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
Blue Collar Resumes: Expert Resumes for Dirty Jobs, and Clean Ones, Too by Steven A. Provenzano
Call Number: HF5383 .P733 2012 (General Collection)
All Work, No Pay: Finding an Internship, Building Your Resume, Making Connections, and Gaining Job Experience by Lauren Berger
Call Number: HF5381 .B3647 2012 (Leeward CC: General Colleciton)
Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities by Ryan Daniel
Call Number: HV1568.5 .R93 2011 (General Collection)
I Got My Dream Job and So Can You: 7 Steps to Creating Your Ideal Career After College by Pete Leibman
Call Number: HF5382.7 .L45 2012 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
Expert Resumes for Military to Civilian Transitions by Wendy Enelow; Louise Kursmark
Call Number: HF5383 .E47885 2010 (Honolulu CC: Circulating Collection)
Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? The Crash Course: Finding, Landing, and Keeping Your First Real Job by Ellen Gordon Reeves
Call Number: HF5382.7 .R44 2009 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
Instant Interviews: 101 Ways to Get the Best Job of Your Life by Jeffrey G. Allen
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 A442 2009 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)
You Majored in What? Mapping Your Path from Chaos to Career by Katharine Brooks
Call Number: HF5382.75.U6 B755 2009 (Leeward CC: General Collection)
The Graphic Designer's Business Survival Guide by Lawrence J. Daniels
Call Number: NC1001 .D36 2013 (UH Manoa: Hamilton 2nd floor)

Videos

Articles

Finding Your True Calling
Job Journal (2013)

Additional Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook
US Dept. of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics