Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides: Hawaiian Medicinal Plants and Active Ingredients: Home

Find Books & eBooks

Search the Library and Beyond

Advanced Search

Find Journal Articles

Use these databases to find peer reviewed journal articles:

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary, including 1,000+ chemistry journals.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 2.6 million articles.
EBSCOhost ALL Databases This link opens in a new window
Try Academic Search Complete, Agricola, and GreenFILE. [More EBSCO Help]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
How-to Video for Using Google Scholar.
If full-text is not available, check the Kapiʻolani CC Journal Collection.

Search for articles in Journals:

Science Magazine (e-journal)
Science is one of the world's leading peer-reviewed journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general-science society. Full-text articles are available from 1997 to present.

Additional Help

Evaluating sources (CRAAP Test)

Reading scholarly journal articles

APA Format and Citation Style

Contact Us: kapccref@hawaii.edu, 808-734-9359 (call), 808-201-2986 (text)

Books & eBooks - Chemistry

Selected Kapiʻolani CC books and eBooks which may be helpful in isolating active ingredients:

The Organic Chem Lab Survival Manual
Call Number: QD261 .Z83 2011
General Collection
Laboratory Manual of Organic Chemistry
Call Number: eBook
Medicinal Plants: Chemistry and Properties
Call Number: eBook
Bioactive Medicinal Plants
Call Number: eBook
Plant Bioactives and Drug Discovery
Call Number: eBook
Update on Undertaking Extractable and Leachable Testing
Call Number: eBook
Chemical Analysis of Antibiotic Residues in Food
Call Number: eBook
A Guide to Medicinal Plants : An Illustrated Scientific and Medicinal Approach
Call Number: eBook
Medicinal Plant Biotechnology
Call Number: eBook
Folk Medicine: The Art and the Science
Call Number: RS164 F64 1986
General Collection
Chinese Herbs: Their Botany, Chemistry, and Pharmacodynamics
Call Number: RM666.H33 K48
General Collection

Web Resources - Hawaiian Plants

Native Plants Hawai`i

Hawaiian Ethnobotany Online Database

Books & eBooks - Cultural Aspects

Selected Kapiʻolani CC books which may be helpful in researching uses of plants in Hawaiian culture:

Lāʻau Hawaiʻi: Traditional Hawaiian Uses of Plants by Isabella Aiona Abbott
Call Number: QK473.H4 A33 1992
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
See chapter 13 on "Medicines and Healing."
Kāhuna Lāʻau Lapaʻau: Hawaiian Herbal Medicine by June Gutmanis; Theodore Kelsey (translations); Susan G. Monden (illustrations)
Call Number: QK99.H3 G88 2004
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Plants in Hawaiian Medicine by Beatrice H. Krauss; Martha Noyes
Call Number: DU624.65 .K73 2001
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Native Plants Used As Medicine in Hawaii by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: QK99.H3 K73 1981
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Native Hawaiian Medicine. Vol. III by Rev. David Kaluna Kaʻaiakamanu and Malcolm Nāea Chun
Call Number: QK99.H3 K36 2003
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaiian Medicine Book
Call Number: QK99 H3 H38 1986
Hawaiian Reference
Medicine at Your Feet: Healing Plants of the Hawaiian Kingdom
Call Number: QK99.H3 L46 1998
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Buke ʻOihana Lapaʻau me nā ʻApu Lāʻau Hawaiʻi (Book of Medical Practices and Hawaiian Prescriptions) by Thomas (Kamaki) P. Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: GN477.4 .B85 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Polynesian Herbal Medicine by W. Arthur Whistler
Call Number: QK99.P75 W45 1992
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Folk Remedies from Hawaiʻi by Ann Kondo Corum
Call Number: QK99.H3 C67 1987
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Ethnobotany of the Hawaiians by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: DU624.65 .K7
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ethnobotany of Hawaii by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: QK471 .K72
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)
Kahua Kukui: Ethnobotany of the Hawaiians by R. Hikoula Hanapi
Call Number: QK473.H4 H36 1996
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask for Assistance)
Also available online via eVols.
Plants in Hawaiian Culture by Beatrice H. Krauss
Call Number: DU624.65 K72 1993
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
See chapter on "Medicine and Medicinal Herbs."
Plants of Old Hawaiʻi by Lois Lucas
Call Number: DU624.65 L84 1982
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Hawaiian Heritage Plants
Call Number: QK473.H4 K46 1998
(Hawaiian Reference)
Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment by E.S. Craighill Handy, Elizabeth Green Handy, & Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Amy Greenwell Garden Ethnobotanical Guide to Native Hawaiian Plants & Polynesian-Introduced Plants
Call Number: QK473.H4 .A53 2009
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Plants of the Canoe People by W. Arthur Whistler
Call Number: GN476.73 .W55 2009
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Hawaii's Native Plants
Call Number: QK473.H4 B64 2004
(Hawaiian Collection)
Growing Native Hawaiian Plants
Call Number: SB439.24.H3 B67 1996
(Hawaiian Collection)
Growing Native Hawaiian Plants
Call Number: SB439.24.H3 B67 2005
(Hawaiian Collection)
A Native Hawaiian Garden by John L. Culliney; Bruce P. Koebele
Call Number: SB439.24.H3 C85 1999
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Traditional Trees of Pacific Islands
Call Number: SB171.I746 T73 2006
(Hawaiian Reference)
Trees of Hawaii
Call Number: QK473.H4 K47 1990
Hawaiian Collection
Hawaiian ʻAwa: Views of an Ethnobotanical Treasure
Call Number: RS165.K3 H393 2006
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
Noni
Call Number: QK495.R85 N45 2006
Hawaiian Collection
A Tropical Garden Flora: Plants Cultivated in the Hawaiian Islands and Other Tropical Places by George Staples; Derral R. Herbst
Call Number: QK473.H4 S75 2005
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Ancient Hawaiian Civilization: A Series of Lectures Delivered at the Kamehameha Schools
Call Number: DU624.5 A6 1965
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
See Ch. 24: Medicine
Ancient Hawaiian Life by E. H. Bryan
Call Number: DU624.5 B7 1938
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-Ask for Assistance)
See chapter: "Medicine, death, burial."

Also available online via HathiTrust Digital Library.
Nānā I Ke Kumu by Mary Kawena Pukui; E. W. Haertig; Catherine A. Lee
Call Number: DU624.5 P85
(Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Describes Hawaiian cultural practices, concepts, and beliefs.
Also available online via Ulukau.