At the end of this workshop (6-minute video), you will:
Research Challenge Worksheet | Research Challenge Help
Annotated Bibliography Template (3-min video)
What Goes in My Annotated Bibliography?
Citation Machine (choose APA or MLA)
Occupational Outlook Handbook (video)
Use the Search Handbook box to find information
APA: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2019, December 4). Flight attendants. Occupational Outlook Handbook. Dept of Labor. Retrieved from https://www.bls.gov/ooh/transportation-and-material-moving/flight-attendants.htm
MLA: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Librarians." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Dept of Labor, 2 July 2018, www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm.
Using Google and Applying the CRAAP Test video
Local info: Hawaiʻi Jobs Explorer
| Vocational & Career database (video): For career articles. |
| EBSCO Academic Search Complete: For additional journals and magazine articles. |
40 questions to ask in an informational interview (U. of Buffalo)
APA: Cited in-text but not in the References list.
MLA: Oehlers, Joy. Personal interview. 19 Mar. 2022.
|
|
|
|
|
Use Films on Demand to find: |
Career Road Map by
There are many times in a career where short pieces of advice come in useful, whether you're looking for a new job, thinking about leaving your current role, or trying to make progress inside an organisation. Here are 52 short pieces from careers expert John Lees, aimed to provide vital short-cuts, help you out of a fix, re-energise your job search or interview planning, or to rethink the way you manage your career. Most originally appeared in John's weekly column for the UK daily newspaper Metro.
 |
joy.oehlers@hawaii.edu |
Careers If You Like to Travel by
Young people who are uncertain about their future careers may want to start with what they enjoy or dream about--like, for instance, travel. A wide variety of careers involve travel, from flight attendant to hospitality manager, travel nurse, or ESL teacher. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed, along with insight from industry experts.
Changing the Game: My Career in Collegiate Sports Marketing by
Many Kentuckians and fans of intercollegiate athletics are familiar with the name Jim Host. As founder and CEO of Host Communications, he was the pioneer in college sports marketing. Host's prevailing innovation in collegiate sports was the concept of bundled licensing, which encouraged corporate partners to become official sponsors of athletic programs across media formats. Host and his team developed the NCAA Radio Network and introduced what became known as the NCAA's Corporate Partner Program, which employed companies such as Gillette, Valvoline, Coca-Cola, and Pizza Hut to promote university athletic programs and the NCAA at large. Host was involved with the construction of Rupp Arena, the Kentucky Horse Park, and the KFC Yum! Center. But few know his full story. Changing the Game is the first complete account of the entrepreneur's professional life, detailing his achievements in sports radio, management, and broadcasting; his time in minor league baseball, real estate, and the insurance business; and his foray into Kentucky politics, including his appointments under governors Louie B. Nunn and Ernie Fletcher. This memoir provides a behind-the-scenes look at the growth of big-time athletics and offers solutions for current challenges facing college sports.
The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers by
This second edition of the best-selling, comprehensive handbook The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers will appeal to a wide range of artists, makers, designers, and photographers looking to set up and establish an arts practice or design business within the visual arts and creative industries. With fully revised content, three new chapters, and profiles of contemporary artists and designers from around the world, this guide leads the reader through the most important aspects of setting up and growing a profitable enterprise. Providing the vital knowledge and tools to develop a vision and achieve business growth, topics include- - Building networks and successful negotiation tactics - Promoting an engaging social media presence - Business planning and money management - Overview of legal, tax and intellectual property issues - Setting up a website and trading online - Exploiting innovation and future trends As well as specially tailored enterprise exercises and useful diagrams, this latest edition features apt quotations and indispensable resources including an extensive glossary and a list of key professional bodies and organisations based in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and South America. This handbook is printed in a dyslexic-friendly font and includes new illustrated mind maps and colour pictures throughout.
Building Systems for Interior Designers by
The ultimate interior designer's guide to building systems and safety Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition is the single-source technical reference that every designer needs, and an ideal solution for NCIDQ exam preparation. Now in its third edition, this invaluable guide has been updated to better address the special concerns of the interior designer within the context of the entire design team. New coverage includes the latest information on sustainable design and energy conservation, expanded coverage of security and building control systems, and a new and expanded art program with over 250 new illustrations. Covering systems from HVAC to water to waste to lighting, this book explains technical building systems and engineering issues in a clear and accessible way to help interior designers communicate more effectively with architects, engineers, and contractors. Professional interior design is about much more than aesthetics and decorating, and technical knowledge is critical. Before the space is planned, the designer must consider the mechanical and electrical equipment, structural system, and building components, and how they impact the space. This book shows you how to evaluate these complex factors, and how each affects your work throughout the building. Consider how site conditions and structural systems affect interior design Design functionally for human health and safety Factor water, electrical, and thermal systems into your design plans Examine the ways in which lighting and acoustics affect the space The comfort, safety, and ultimate success of a project depend upon your knowledge of building system and your coordination with architects and engineers. Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition provides the comprehensive yet focused information you need to excel at what you do best.
Glamorous Living by
Dallas-based interior designer Jan Showers returns to the concept first introduced in her bestselling book, Glamorous Rooms. Jan takes the reader through luxurious private residences across the United States room by room. This book invites readers into 20 never-before-photographed homes, in some of America's most idyllic locales, including a glamorous New York apartment, a London townhouse in Belgravia, an architecturally significant house in Paradise Valley, Scottsdale, a historic residence in Austin, a country estate, a stunning home on Buffalo Bayou in Houston, a duplex apartment at The Mansion Residence in Dallas, and many more.
Mid-Century Modern Interiors: The Ideas That Shaped Interior Design in America by
Mid-Century Modern Interiors explores the history of interior design during arguably its most iconic and influential period. The 1930s to the 1960s in the United States was a key moment for interior design. It not only saw the emergence of some of interior design's most globally-important designers, it also saw the field of interior design emerge at last as a profession in its own right. Through a series of detailed case studies this book introduces the key practitioners of the period - world-renowned designers including Ray and Charles Eames, Richard Neutra, and George Nelson - and examines how they developed new approaches by applying systematic and rational principles to the creation of interior spaces. It takes us into the mind of the designer to show how they each used interior design to express their varied theoretical interests, and reveals how the principles they developed have become embodied in the way interior design is practiced today. This focus on unearthing the underlying ideas and concepts behind their designs rather than on the finished results creates a richer, more conceptual understanding of this pivotal period in modernist design history. With an extended introduction setting the case studies within the broader context of twentieth-century design and architectural history, this book provides both an introduction and an in-depth analysis for students and scholars of interior design, architecture and design history.
Moving Innovation: A History of Computer Animation by
Computer graphics (or CG) has changed the way we experience the art of moving images. Computer graphics is the difference between Steamboat Willie and Buzz Lightyear, between ping pong and PONG. It began in 1963 when an MIT graduate student named Ivan Sutherland created Sketchpad, the first true computer animation program. Sutherland noted: "Since motion can be put into Sketchpad drawings, it might be exciting to try making cartoons." This book, the first full-length history of CG, shows us how Sutherland's seemingly offhand idea grew into a multibillion dollar industry. His story features a memorable cast of characters -- math nerds, avant-garde artists, cold warriors, hippies, video game enthusiasts, and studio executives: disparate types united by a common vision. Sito shows us how fifty years of work by this motley crew made movies like Toy Story and Avatar possible.
Residential Interior Design A Guide to Planning Spaces by
A practical approach to planning residential spaces Residential Interior Design: A Guide To Planning Spaces is the industry-standard reference for all aspects of residential space planning, with a practical focus on accessible design, ergonomics, and how building systems affect each space. This new third edition has been updated with the most recent code information, including the 2015 International Residential Code and the International Green Construction Code, and new content on remodeling. Packed with hundreds of drawings and photographs, this book illustrates a step-by-step approach to design that applies to any residential space, and ensures that the most important factors are weighted heavily in the decision making process. Daily use is a major consideration, and the authors explore the minimum amount of space each room requires to function appropriately while examining the host of additional factors that impact bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchens, hallways, and more. Detailed information about accessibility is included in each chapter, making this book a reliable design reference for "aging in place" and universal design. The new companion website features teaching tools and a variety of learning supplements that help reinforce the material covered. Interior design is a fundamental component of a residential space, and a required skill for architecture and design professionals. This book is a complete reference on all aspects of residential design, and the factors that make a space "work." Design spaces with primary consideration of daily use Account for building systems, accessibility, human factors, and more Get up to date on the latest residential interior building codes Plan interiors for any home, any style, and any budget Designing a residential interior is about more than choosing paint colors and furniture--it's about people, and how they interact and use the space. It's about shaping the space to conform to its function in the best possible way. Residential Interior Design provides clear, comprehensive guidance on getting it right every time.
Store Design and Visual Merchandising by
In an age of self service stores, saturated markets and ever more demanding customers, the careful and science driven design of the point of sale has become a crucial success factor for both retailers and service businesses. In this second edition, the interested reader will find a variety of hands on suggestions on how to optimize the design of retail stores, including new 'design recipes' in Chapter 7, and service environments to increase customer satisfaction and sales. While the focus is on the practical applicability of the concepts discussed, the book is nevertheless firmly grounded in consumer and psychological research. In this respect it is uniquely positioned vis á vis books written by artists, architects, and interior designers which lack a solid research foundation and academic journal articles, which are often inaccessible to the educated yet non specialized reader. In writing this book, the author draws on both the recent research literature and his own experience as a marketing consultant and consumer researcher. The intended audiences are marketing managers, small business owners, and MBA students. Topics covered in the book include: goals and relevance of store design; design tips derived from environmental psychology; cognitive and affective approaches to store design and visual merchandising; use of ambient factors such as music, colors and scents; creation of emotional experiences and theming.
Use culinary biographies (General Collection TX649) for personal perspectives
Creating Your Culinary Career by 
Food Truck Business: Step-by-Step Startup Guide by
The experts at Entrepreneur provide a two-part guide to success. First, learn all the delicious detail behind starting one the hottest and most affordable food business: your own food truck. Then, master the fundamentals of business startup including defining your business structure, funding, staffing and more. This kit includes: * Essential industry-specific startup essentials including industry trends, best practices, important resources, possible pitfalls, marketing musts, and more * Entrepreneur Editors’ Start Your Own Business, a guide to starting any business and surviving the first three years * Interviews and advice from successful entrepreneurs in the industry * Worksheets, brainstorming sections, and checklists * Entrepreneur's Startup Resource Kit (downloadable) More about Entrepreneur’s Startup Resource Kit Every small business is unique. Therefore, it’s essential to have tools that are customizable depending on your business’s needs. That’s why with Entrepreneur is also offering you access to our Startup Resource Kit. Get instant access to thousands of business letters, sales letters, sample documents and more - all at your fingertips! You’ll find the following: The Small Business Legal Toolkit When your business dreams go from idea to reality, you’re suddenly faced with laws and regulations governing nearly every move you make. Learn how to stay in compliance and protect your business from legal action. In this essential toolkit, you’ll get answers to the "how do I get started?” questions every business owner faces along with a thorough understanding of the legal and tax requirements of your business. Sample Business Letters 1000+ customizable business letters covering each type of written business communication you’re likely to encounter as you communicate with customers, suppliers, employees, and others. Plus a complete guide to business communication that covers every question you may have about developing your own business communication style. Sample Sales Letters The experts at Entrepreneur have compiled more than 1000 of the most effective sales letters covering introductions, prospecting, setting up appointments, cover letters, proposal letters, the all-important follow-up letter and letters covering all aspects of sales operations to help you make the sale, generate new customers and huge profits.
Great Food Jobs 2: Ideas and Inspirations for Your Job Hunt by 
Skateboarding LA: Inside Professional Street Skateboarding by
Inside the complex and misunderstood world of professional street skateboarding On a sunny Sunday in Los Angeles, a crew of skaters and videographers watch as one of them attempts to land a "heel flip" over a fire hydrant on a sidewalk in front of the Biltmore Hotel. A staff member of the hotel demands they leave and picks up his phone to call the police.Not only does the skater land the trick, but he does so quickly, and spares everyone the unwanted stress of having to deal with the cops. This is not an uncommon occurrence in skateboarding, which is illegal in most American cities and this interaction is just part of the process of being a professional street skater. This is just one of Gregory Snyder's experiences from eight years inside the world of professional street skateboarding: a highly refined, athletic and aesthetic pursuit, from which a large number of people profit. Skateboarding LA details the history of skateboarding, describes basic and complex tricks, tours some of LA's most famous spots, and provides an enthusiastic appreciation of this dangerous and creative practice. Particularly concerned with public spaces, Snyder shows that skateboarding offers cities much more than petty vandalism and exaggerated claims of destruction. Rather, skateboarding draws highly talented young people from around the globe to skateboarding cities, building a diverse and wide-reaching community of skateboarders, filmmakers, photographers, writers, and entrepreneurs. Snyder also argues that as stewards of public plazas and parks, skateboarders deter homeless encampments and drug dealers. In one stunning case, skateboarders transformed the West LA Courthouse, with Nike's assistance, into a skateable public space. Through interviews with current and former professional skateboarders, Snyder vividly expresses their passion, dedication and creativity. Especially in relation to the city's architectural features--ledges, banks, gaps, stairs and handrails--they are constantly re-imagining and repurposing these urban spaces in order to perform their ever-increasingly difficult tricks. For anyone interested in this dynamic and daunting activity, Skateboarding LA is an amazing ride.
How to Be an Outstanding Primary Teaching Assistant by
How to be an Outstanding Primary Teaching Assistant is packed full of advice, tips and strategies to help teaching assistants deliver outstanding support in the primary classroom.Written by an experienced teaching assistant, this book explores the diverse range of roles and responsibilities held by support staff in primary schools and provides guidance on how to tackle them successfully. It features tried-and-tested ideas that can be easily implemented and helps teaching assistants to build a toolbox of skills and strategies to support children throughout their school career, whatever their ability or need. This easy-to-use book includes creative advice on how best to assist the classroom teacher and the children they teach, including those with special educational needs, English as an additional language, or behavioural difficulties. It is an invaluable resource for newly qualified and more experienced teaching assistants.
Launch a Teaching Career: Secrets for Aspiring Teachers by
This is the perfect time to become a full-time teacher and yet too many college graduates who majored in education, or corporate workers looking to transition to teaching, cannot secure a teaching position. Where are the opportunities? How do you market yourself appropriately? In Launch a Teaching Career: Secrets for Aspiring Teachers, Dr. Peter Leibman explains in great detail how to avoid the resume pile, enhance your candidacy, and move to the head of the class. A step-by-step plan of action is presented giving you a comprehensive guide to achieve your goal of becoming a teacher. You will learn how to: - Build a positive reputation as an undergraduate student - Effectively transition from the corporate world - Develop a powerful network of supporters - Write a dynamic broadcast letter designed to get you more interviews - Avoid resume pitfalls and present yourself in a professional manner - Ace the interview by taking control - Learn where the job opportunities really are - Enhance your position and impress school administrators
