This is the "Home" page of the "IS 197H Queen Kapiʻolani & Lēʻahi" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IS 197H Queen Kapiʻolani & Lēʻahi  

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/kapiolani-leahi Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Queen Kapiʻolani & the Hawaiian Monarchy

 

Cover Art
Queen Kapiʻolani - Maili Yardley
Call Number: DU627.17.K37 Y37 1985 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Notable Women of Hawaiʻi
Call Number: HQ1412 N67 1984 (Hawaiian Reference Collection)

Cover Art
Kalakaua: Hawaii's Last King - Kristin Zambucka
Call Number: DU627.16 Z36 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
David Kalakaua - Ruby H. Lowe
Call Number: DU627.16 .L68 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
See pp.17-20 for info on Queen Kapiʻolani
FULL-TEXT ONLINE

Cover Art
Hawaiʻi's Story by Hawaiʻi's Queen - Liliʻuokalani
Call Number: DU627.2 .L72 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
See Ch. XIX Queen Kapiʻolani's Journey
FULL-TEXT ONLINE

Cover Art
The Hawaiian Kingdom (3 vols) - Ralph S. Kuykendall
Call Number: DU627 K8 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
See Vol. 3: 1874-1893 The Kalākaua Dynasty for info on Queen Kapiʻolani
FULL-TEXT ONLINE

Cover Art
The Hawaiian Monarchy - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU624.65 .S45 2004 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
History of the Hawaiian Kingdom - Norris Potter; Lawrence Kasdon; Ann Rayson
Call Number: DU627 .P67 2003 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Ano Lani: the Hawaiian Monarchy years, 1810 to 1893 - Linda Ching; Malcolm N. Chun
Call Number: DU627 .A56 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The diaries of Walter Murray Gibson: 1886, 1887
Call Number: DU627.17.G5 A3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Includes info on the Queen (see index)

Need help? Contact:

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific
 

Books on Lēʻahi Area

 

Cover Art
Waikīkī: a history of forgetting & remembering - Andrea Feeser
Call Number: DU629.W44 F44 2006 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Diamond Head, Hawaiʻi's Icon - Allan Seiden
Call Number: DU629.D53 S44 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Secrets of Diamond Head - Denby Fawcett
Call Number: DU629.D53 F39 2014 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Surfing: traditions from the past - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection)
FULL-TEXT ONLINE Includes information on traditional surf sites on Oʻahu. See p.409 for Waikīkī Place Names Related to Surfing. (Also includes info on Papaʻenaʻena Heiau)

Cover Art
Waikīkī: Nine Walks Through Time - Veneeta Acson
Call Number: DU629.H7 A25 2003 (Hawai'i & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī - Kai White; Jim Kraus
Call Number: DU629.H7 W47 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Waikīkī, 1900-1985 : oral histories
Call Number: DU629.W44 W3 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scott
Call Number: DU623 S37 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

 

Books on Place Names

Cover Art
Place Names of Hawaii - Pukui
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Reference copies also available (Request from Circulation Desk)
FULL-TEXT ONLINE

Cover Art
Hawai'i Place Names - John Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Sites of Oʻahu - Sterling, Summers
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiian Collection)
Detailed index
KCC Library

Cover Art
Native Planters of Old Hawaii - Handy, Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Publication Date: 1972-01-01
See pt. 5: Descriptions of areas of habitation on each island.

 

Newspaper & Journal Articles

 

Cover Art
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922

Cover Art
The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available in full-text online.

Cover Art
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
A handbook of valuable and statistical information relating to the Hawaiian Islands. 1875-1936.

Cover Art
Hoʻolaupaʻi:Hawaiian Nūpepa (Newspaper) Collection
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published from 1834-1948.

Nupepa Blog
Blog sharing highlights from the Hawaiian language newspapers. Occasionally, a rough translation or explanation is given in English.

 

Maps & Photos

by Joesph Dwight Strong, 1884

AvaKonohiki: land and map research

Kipuka Database: GIS mapping of Hawaiʻi that provides "a window into native Hawaiian land, culture, and history."

Images of Hawaiʻi Research Guide

 

Additional Resources

QUEEN KAPIʻOLANI

The Passing of Hawaii's Aliis, "Hawaiian Almanac and Annual." 1900. p.86

Report of Her Majest Queen Kapiolani's visit to Molokai, by H. R. H. Princess Liliuokalani, July 1884.

LĒʻAHI

Diamond Head Master Plan Update, 2003
Includes info on geology, land use,  and cultural/historical sites in the area

Kapiʻo article on Lēʻahi place names, April 1, 1997 (see page 6: "Ancient Hawaiian names tell story of the land, religion")

Diamond Head State Monument handout
(side 1, side 2)

Hawaiian Legends Index


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip