This is the "Finding Resources" page of the "JPNS - Japanese Language and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JPNS - Japanese Language and Culture  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/jpns-language-culture Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Language

Cover Art
Genki I: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese - Eri Banno
Call Number: PL539.3 .S57 2011 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Genki II: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese - Eri Banno
Call Number: PL539.3 .S57 2011 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Japanese Hiragana and Katakana for Beginners - Timothy G. Stout
Call Number: PL528 .S677 2011 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Kana Pict-O-Graphix - Michael Rowley
Call Number: PL528 .R69 1995 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Let's Learn Hiragana - Yasuko K. Mitamura
Call Number: PL551 M68 1985 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Remembering the Kana - James W. Heisig
Call Number: PL528 .H448 2007 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
The Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary - Jack Halpern
Call Number: PL677.5 .K63 2001 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Japanese Phrasebook & Dictionary - Lonely Planet Staff
Call Number: PL539 .J37 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Kodansha's Compact Kanji Guide
Call Number: PL679 .K567 1991 (General Collection)



Cover Art
Basic Japanese Through Comics Part 2 - Ashizawa Kazuko (Illustrator)
Call Number: PL539 .M352 2000 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Kanji Pict-O-Graphix - Michael Rowley
Call Number: PL677.6 .R69 1992 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
All about Particles - Naoko Chino
Call Number: PL601 C49 1991 (Japan Collection)


 

Print Magazines

Find these magazines on the first floor of the library.

Cover Art
ViVi
A Japanese fashion magazine.

Cover Art
Brutus
A popular magazine for trend-conscious males.

 

Video

Cover Art
Spirited Away - Hayao Miyazaki
Call Number: KDVD 259 (AV/Media Collection)

Cover Art
Princess Mononoke - Hayao Miyazaki
Call Number: KDVD 258 (AV/Media Collection)

Cover Art
My Neighbor Totoro - Hayao Miyazaki
Call Number: KDVD 257 (AV/Media Collection)

Cover Art
Grave of the Fireflies - Isao Takahata
Call Number: KDVD 256 (AV/Media Collection)

Cover Art
Japan's Killer Quake
Call Number: KDVD 219 (AV/Media Collection)


Cover Art
細雪 Sasameyuki: The Makioka Sisters
Call Number: KDVD 246 (AV/Media Collection)

Japan Video Topics
Call Number: KDVD 300 (AV/Media Collection)

 

Culture


Cover Art
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture - Yoshio Sugimoto
Call Number: DS822.5 .C365 2009 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Understanding Japanese Society - Joy Hendry
Call Number: HN723.5 .H46 2012 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Home and Family in Japan: Continuity and Transformation - Richard Ronald
Call Number: HQ682 .H588 2011 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Oishinbo, A La Carte - Tetsu Kariya; Hanasaki Akira; Tetsuichiro Miyaki
Call Number: PN6790.J34 O3813 2009 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Sumi-e: The Art of Japanese Ink Painting - Shozo Sato
Call Number: ND2462 .S26 2010 (Oversize Collection)

Cover Art
Ikebana: The Art of Japanese Flower Arranging - Elizabeth Palmer
Call Number: SB450 .P35 1988 (Oversize Collection)

Cover Art
Kabuki: Baroque Fusion of the Arts - Toshio Kawatake
Call Number: PN2924.5.K3 K38613 2006 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Picture-Perfect Origami - Nick Robinson; Emma Tysoe
Call Number: TT870 .R63 2008 (Japan Collection)



Cover Art
Bento Love - Kentaro Kobayashi
Call Number: TX724.5.J3 K587 2009 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
History of Japanese Art - Penelope E. Mason
Call Number: N7350 .M26 2005 (Oversize Collection)



Cover Art
Manga: Sixty Years of Japanese Comics - Paul Gravett
Call Number: PN6790.J3 G73 2004 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Mastering Manga with Mark Crilley - Mark Crilley
Call Number: NC1764.5.J3 C75 2012 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Japanamerica: How Japanese Pop Culture has Invaded the US - Roland Kelts
Call Number: E169.12 .K46 2006 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Otaku Spaces - Patrick W. Galbraith; Androniki Christodoulou
Call Number: HM646 .G36 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Bushido: The Soul of Japan - Inazô Nitobé
Call Number: DS821 .N75 2002 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Ninja: The Shadow Warrior - Joel Levy
Call Number: UB271.J3 L485 2008 (General Collection)

Budō : The Martial Ways of Japan
Call Number: GV1100.77.A2 B84 2009 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths - Shigeru Mizuki; Jocelyne Allen (Translator)
Call Number: PN6790.J33 M59914 2011 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Family Crests of Japan
Call Number: CR57.J3 F36 2007 (Japan Collection)






Cover Art
Japan and the Culture of the Four Seasons - Haruo Shirane
Call Number: PL721.S4 S55 2012 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Showa, 1926-1939: A History of Japan - Shigeru Mizuki; Zack Davisson
Call Number: DS888.5 M5913 2013 (Japan Collection)


 

How does this work?

1.  Select a title.

2.  Check the holdings information to make sure it's not checked out.

3.  If it's available, text or write down the call number and location.  You'll need it to find the book on the library shelves.

4.  Locate the book on the shelves.  To borrow, take it to the Circulation Desk.

 

Literature



Cover Art
Battle Royale - Koushun Takami; Yuji Oniki (Translator)
Call Number: PL876.A396 B3813 2009 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Out - Natsuo Kirino; Stephen Snyder (Translator)
Call Number: PL855.I566 O8713 2005 (Japan Collection)




Cover Art
Botchan - Natsume Soseki
Call Number: PL812.A8 B6313 2005 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Confessions of a Mask - Yukio Mishima
Call Number: PL833.I7 K313 1958 (Japan Collection)


Cover Art
Modern Japanese Literature - Donald Keene
Call Number: PL882 .K43 1994 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Short Stories in Japanese - Michael Emmerich
Call Number: PL782.E8 S53 2011 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
101 Modern Japanese Poems - Makoto oka; Paul McCarthy
Call Number: PL733.8 .G4313 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
The Devotion of Suspect X - Keigo Higashino
Call Number: PL871.I33 Y6413 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Plainsong - Kazushi Hosaka
Call Number: PL852.O77 P8713 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Flowers of Grass - Takehiko Fukunaga
Call Number: PL850.K8 K813 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Audition - Ryu Murakami
Call Number: PL856.U696 O3513 2010 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
The Goddess Chronicle - Natsuo Kirino
Call Number: PL855.I566 J6713 2012 (Japan Collection)

Cover Art
Wind / Pinball: Two Novels - Haruki Murakami
Call Number: PL856.U673 A2 2015 (Japan Collection)


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip