This is the "Home" page of the "Images of Hawaiʻi" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Images of Hawaiʻi  

Last Updated: Aug 5, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/imagesofhawaii Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Photographs


Cover Art
Hawaiian Photo Album
Photo albums and scrapbooks from the early 20th century from the Hawaiian Rare collection at UHM

Cover Art
Aloha Hawaiʻi Scrapbook
A collection of black and white and hand-colored photographs of scenic sites and identifiable landmarks in Hawaiʻi, programs, tickets, etc.

Cover Art
Hawaii War Records Depository Photos
80 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps and the U.S. Navy during World War II. These photographs, taken between 1941 and 1946, document the impact of World War II in Hawaii. UHM Digital Collections

Cover Art
Filipino Workers in Hawaii, 1926
50 "Photographs in Connection with the Investigation of Working Conditions of Filipino Laborers on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations, 1926," by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood. UHM Digital Collections.

Cover Art
Ed Greevy's Photograph Collection
Includes photos of anti-war protests, Chinatown evictions, Hawaiian Sovereignty movement, Kalama Valley evictions, Protect Kahoʻolawe ʻOhana, and more.


Cover Art
Hawaiian Historical Society Photograph Collection
"Data records for the images in the historical photographs collections of the Hawaiian Historical Society. Please note that only a small portion of the collection has been digitized."





 

Photo-sharing Websites

Sources for photos and images in the public domain (free to use without permission).

flickr's The Commons
from the world's public photography archives

flickr  (select Creative Commons from the drop down menu under Any License)

Wikimedia Commons

Google Images
Under Search Tools, use the Usage Rights menu to narrow results to photos labeled for reuse.

 

How to Cite a Photograph (MLA)

Artist's last name, first name. Title of Work. Date or      N.d. if no date. Name of institution that
     houses the work or name of private collection.        City where institution or collection is located if
     available. Title of Website. Web. Date of access      in the form of day month year.


Examples:
Hamm, Frank. Manoa Falls. 19 May 2010. Flickr.       Web. 2 Sept. 2015.

Heiau in Kaimuki, Oahu. Hawaii State Archives.        Honolulu.  N.d. Hawaii State Archives Digital          Collections. Web. 2 Sept. 2015.

                 
REMEMBER: 
If you cannot find the author, publisher, etc., for the online source, cite what is available. For further assistance, please ask a reference librarian. 

 

Photographs in Books

Cover Art
Hawaiian Yesterdays - Ray J. Baker
Call Number: Hawaiian Reference DU621.5 B34 1982 (Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Saga of the Sandwich Islands - Edward B. Scoot
Call Number: H&P Collection DU623 S37

Cover Art
Hawaiʻi Looking Back: an illustrated history of the islands - Glen Grant
Call Number: Hawaiian Reference DU625 .G736 2000 (Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Missionary Album - Hawaiian Mission Children's Society.
Call Number: Hawaiian ReferenceBV3680.H4 A2 1969 (Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Hawaiʻi 50: Five Decades of Photography
Call Number: H&P Collection DU621.5 .H386 2008



Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip