Skip to main content
YOU ARE HERE: KCC Home > KCC Library           E komo mai - Welcome to Lama Library!

Library Website: Homepage

E komo mai - Welcome to Kapiʻolani Community College Lama Library!
Textbooks on reserve graphic
Image of library books
Ancestry Library

Ancestry Library

Use Ancestry Library Edition to search genealogical records and discover more about your family history. This database includes records from the U.S. Census, military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists, and more.

Image of japanese library books
Ebook Central

Ebook Central

Ebook Central is a full-text collection of over 80,000 books covering all subjects from the world's leading publishers, plus special technology to help you effectively use these online books for research.

EBSCOhost eBooks

EBSCOhost eBooks

Almost 4,000 titles are available online in full-text in EBSCO's eBook Collection, including several books in the successful For Dummies series, and over 300 titles from the University of Hawaii Press. A large collection of publicly accessible eBooks is also included, containing many classic works of literature and history.

Image of library stairwell lights
Encyclopaedia Britannica

Encyclopaedia Britannica

The Encyclopaedia Britannica Online delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, the Encyclopaedia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights that users will not find anywhere else.

Image of library exterior
Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices

This online video collection offers teachers, researchers, and students a rare look inside the cultures of Oceania through the lens of indigenous peoples. More than 180 hours of documentaries, shorts, and narrative feature films explore the stories, dances, art, history, and contemporary issues of Indigenous Australians, Maoris and Pacific Islanders.

Image of library Lama sign
Films on Demand

Films on Demand

The Films on Demand Master Academic Collection is a user-friendly online streaming media system including more than 5,000 high-quality educational video titles covering Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science, and Health. All programming includes public performance rights.

Issues & Controversies

Issues & Controversies

Issues & Controversies @ FACTS.com is an authoritative source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated current issues. Each topic combines factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view, plus related chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, contact information, and links.

Image of library exterior
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. The 10 volumes include research in the ethnomusicology of Africa, South America, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, the United States, Canada, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Middle East, China, Japan, Korea, Europe, Australia, and the Pacific Islands.

Image of library exterior
ProQuest - Honolulu Newspapers

ProQuest - Honolulu Newspapers

Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from June 7, 2010 to present; the Honolulu Advertiser from November 30, 2002 to May 13, 2010; and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin from November 26, 1991 to June 6, 2010.

Image of compass bird
ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of information in science (including social sciences, arts and humanities), technology, and medicine. It includes over 6 million articles and over 60 million abstracts in over 1,800 scholarly journals. The University of Hawaii System Libraries have purchased full text access to hundreds of journals in ScienceDirect: look for green Subscribed content icons.

Science Magazine

Science Magazine

Science is one of the world's leading peer-reviewed journals of original scientific research, global news, and commentary, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general-science society. Full-text articles are available from 1997 to present.

Image of library exterior
Statista

Statista

Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information, integrating data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.