This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 284 - Hawaiian History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 284 - Hawaiian History  

This guide will help you to find oral histories, first person accounts, and primary sources related to significant events in Hawaiʻi's history.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/hist284 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books

Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books and DVDs at KCC and other UH System Campuses. 
Need help finding books at KCC other UH Libraries?

 

Find Journal Articles

Cover Art
The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available in full-text online.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific

 

First Person Accounts: Letters, Diaries, Memoirs @ KCC Library


Cover Art
The diaries of David Lawrence Gregg: an American diplomat in Hawaii, 1853-1858
Call Number: DU627.13 G74 1982 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The Diaries of Walter Murray Gibson, 1886-1887
Call Number: DU627.17.G5 A3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaii's story by Hawaii's queen - Queen Liliuokalani
Call Number: DU627.2 .L72 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)


Cover Art
Life Behind Barbed Wire : the World War II internment memoirs of a Hawaiʻi Issei - Keiho Soga
Call Number: D769.8.A6 S66 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
eBook also available online

Cover Art
Glimpses of Hawaiian daily life and culture, 1778-1898
Call Number: DU624.65 .B48 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Selections from writings of Western visitors to Hawaiʻi.


Cover Art
Clouds of memories - Mona Kanahele
Call Number: DU627.83.K34 K34 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Diary entries: excerpts from the 1930s to the 1990s -- Early years -- Place names and legends -- Miloliʻi stories -- Miloliʻi legends -- Fishing traditions.

Cover Art
Hoʻi Hoʻi Hou, A Tribute to George Helm and Kimo Mitchell
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.22 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Includes writings and diary entry by George Helm regarding the Protect Kahoʻolawe ʻOhana and its actions.

Cover Art
The true story of Kaluaikoolau / as told by his wife, Piilani ; translated from the Hawaiian language by Frances N. Frazier
Call Number: GR110.H38 K35 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
"In 1892, after learning that he and his young son had contracted leprosy, Koolau fled with his family deep into Kalalau Valley. In June 1893 Koolau shot and killed a sheriff and two Provisional Government soldiers who had been sent to arrest him."

Questions? Contact me:

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific
 

Oral Histories Online


Royal Hawaiian Girls' Glee Club. 1930s or 40s. Photo from "An Era of Change: Oral Histories of Civilians in World War II Hawaiʻi"

UHM Center for Oral History Interview Transcripts
Includes interviews from civilians in WWII Hawaiʻi, Hawaiʻi-born Nisei, perspectives on Hawaiʻi's statehood, the 1924 Filipino Strike on Kauaʻi, tsunamis, etc.

Clinton Kanahele Collection (BYU Hawaiʻi)
Interviews with 20 Native Hawaiians on Hawaiian culture, their personal experiences, and history of places in Hawaiʻi. Audio & transcripts in Hawaiian and English.

Korean Oral History Project
Audio recordings of interviews by Daisy Chun for the book, Passages to Paradise: early Korean immigrant narratives from Hawaiʻi

The Hawai'i Nisei Story: Americans of Japanese Ancestry During World War II

Hanashi Oral History Video Archive, Go For Broke National Education Center
Video clips from oral history interviews with Japanese American World War II Veterans; Includes reflections on Pearl Harbor

 

Oral Histories: Books @ KCC Library

Cover Art
Life histories of native Hawaiians
Call Number: DU624.65 .U55 1978 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)


Cover Art
Hanahana : an oral history anthology of Hawaii's working people
Call Number: HD8083.H3 H36 1984 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Iʻi/Brown family : oral histories
Call Number: CT274.I38 I38 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Remembering Kakaʻako, 1910-1950
Call Number: DU629.K247 U55 1978a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Kalihi, place of transition
Call Number: DU629.K265 K26 1984 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Reflections of Pālama Settlement
Call Number: HV4196.H6 R44 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection

Cover Art
Perspectives on Hawaii's statehood
Call Number: DU625 P47 1986 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Women's Voices in Hawaii - Joyce C. Lebra
Call Number: HQ1438.H3 W66 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
"Interviews with approximately fifty women in their eighties and upper seventies on Oahu, Maui, Kauai, and the Big Island (a few respondents were in their sixties, a few in their nineties)."

Cover Art
Voices of Kalaupapa : oral histories of six Kalaupapa Hansen's disease patients
Call Number: RC154.5.H3 V65 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Eyewitness to Infamy: an oral history of Pearl Harbor - Paul J. Travers
Call Number: D767.92 T68 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection

Cover Art
Reflections of Pearl Harbor : an oral history of December 7, 1941
Call Number: D767.92 .R55 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Women workers in Hawaii's pineapple industry
Call Number: HD6073.P462 U59 1979a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
From the country to the city : oral histories of six families
Call Number: DU624.5 F76 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Public education in Hawaiʻi : oral histories
Call Number: LA263.2 P83 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The 1924 Filipino strike on Kauai
Call Number: HD5325.S852 1924 K388 1979a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Five life histories
Call Number: DU624.6 F59 1983 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Also available online.Reflections of a band musician; retired Oahu Sugar Company administrator; Descendant of Japanese contract immigrants; Nisei from Waipahu


Cover Art
Tsunamis in Maui county : oral histories
Call Number: GC222.M38 T7 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
ʻUalapuʻe, Molokaʻi : oral histories from the East End
Call Number: SH35.H3 U34 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Waipiʻo, māno wai : an oral history collection
Call Number: DU629.W46 U55 1978a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Nā wahi pana o Kaʻū : an oral history of Kaʻū
Call Number: DU629.K28 W24 2005 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
A social history of Kona
Call Number: DU629.K65 S63 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The people of Kalapana, 1823-1950 : a report of the Kalapana Oral History Project
Call Number: DU629.K25 L36 1990 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Koloa, an oral history of a Kauai community
Call Number: DU629.K64 K6 1987a (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Aloha Niihau : oral histories
Call Number: DU624.65 .A45 2007 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

 

Primary Sources: Newspapers & Magazines

Cover Art
Hoʻolaupaʻi:Hawaiian Nūpepa (Newspaper) Collection
An online collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published from 1834-1948.

Cover Art
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922

Cover Art
Paradise of the Pacific Magazine
Vol. 6-15 available online, full-text (1893-1902). This magazine, commissioned by King Kalākaua in 1888, promoted local business and tourism.

Cover Art
Mid-Pacific Magazine
1911-1954. Travel / tourist magazine published in Honolulu.


 

More Primary Sources Online

Thrum's Hawaiian Almanac and Annual
1875-1936. Includes statistical reports on business, population, government, weather and geography. Directories of government, businesses and organizations, and articles on a wide variety of topics.

Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital Collections

The Annexation of Hawaiʻi: A Collection of Documents

Hawaiian Mission Houses & Archives Digital Collection
Journals & letters of Hawaiʻi missionaries, The Friend newspaper (1843-1954), Mission Station Reports (1822-1865), Photographs.

UHM Hawaiian Collection Books & Articles (eVols)

Polynesian Voyaging Society Archives

ʻUluʻulu: Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi

Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives
Kingdom of Hawaiʻi Documents.

Japanese American Veterans Collection
Documents related to the activities of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team during WWII. UHM Archives.

World War II Internment in Hawaiʻi
Primary resources on the Hawaiʻi Japanese American Internment Experience

Hearings on Statehood for Hawaiʻi - 1948
U.S. Senate Hearings

Save Our Surf (SOS) Digital Collection
"Unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement." UHM Digital Collections.

Protect Kahoʻolawe Movement - Video
Archival footage from the early days of the protect Kaho'olawe movement, when Hawaiians called for an end to the bombing of their neighbor island.

Bob Krauss Research Index
An index of English-language newspapers from Hawaiʻi, 1840-1944. Select articles are available online.

Rusty Thomas Menu Collection
Hawaiʻi menus from restaurants, 1946-1982

 

Primary Sources: Photographs


Cover Art
Hawaii War Records Depository Photos
80 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps and the U.S. Navy during World War II. These photographs, taken between 1941 and 1946, document the impact of World War II in Hawaii. UHM Digital Collections

Cover Art
Hawaiian Photo Album
Photo albums and scrapbooks from the early 20th century from the Hawaiian Rare collection at UHM

Cover Art
Filipino Workers in Hawaii, 1926
50 "Photographs in Connection with the Investigation of Working Conditions of Filipino Laborers on Hawaiian Sugar Plantations, 1926," by Lt. Colonel Robert A. Duckworth-Ford, Aide-de-Camp to Governor-General of the Philippines Leonard Wood. UHM Digital Collections.

Cover Art
Ed Greevy's Photograph Collection
Includes photos of anti-war protests, Chinatown evictions, Hawaiian Sovereignty movement, Kalama Valley evictions, Protect Kahoʻolawe ʻOhana, and more.


Cover Art
Hawaiian Historical Society Photograph Collection
"Data records for the images in the historical photographs collections of the Hawaiian Historical Society. Please note that only a small portion of the collection has been digitized."

 

Archives & Special Collections

Tip: Search the libraries/archives' website and online catalog before visiting to save time. Bring quarters to make copies and/or a camera to take photos for free (if allowed).

Hawai'i State Archives
Government archives and special collections. Records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session. Also includes the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers.

UH Mānoa Hawaiian Collection
The largest collection of published materials about Hawaiʻi. Includes newspapers on microfilm published throughout Hawaiʻi.

Hawaiian Historical Society
Collection emphasizes history of Hawaiʻi and the Pacific in the 19th century. Collections include early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawaiʻi.

Hawaiian Mission Children's Society Library
Missionary correspondance, journals, and reports.

Bishop Museum Library & Archives
Diverse collections of manuscripts, photographs, artwork, oral histories, sound recordings, and maps about Hawaiʻi chiefs, people, culture, and history. Note: Must make an appointment to visit & research the collection.

 


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip