This is the "Finding Resources" page of the "Healthy Living" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Healthy Living  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/healthy-living Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

.

KCC is committed to wellness.  Use these books, magazines, videos, and other resources to help you on your way towards a healthier lifestyle.

 

How do I borrow these books? --------->

1.  Select a title.

2.  If it's a physical book, check the holdings information to make sure it's not checked out.

3.  If it's available, text or write down the call number and location.  You'll need it to find the book on the library shelves.

4.  Locate the book on the shelves.  To borrow, take it to the Circulation Desk.

 

Exercise Books

Cover Art
Exploring Hanauma Bay - Susan Scott; David Schrichte
Call Number: GV840.S78 S35 2013 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Health and Wellness - Gordon Edlin; Eric Golanty
Call Number: RA776 .E24 2007 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Effective Cycling - John Forester
Call Number: GV1041 .F67 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Oahu Trails: Walks, Strolls, and Treks on the Capital Isle - Kathy Morey
Call Number: GV199.42.H32 O145 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)


Cover Art
Basic Weight Training for Men and Women - Thomas Fahey
Call Number: GV546 .F25 2013 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Yoga Body - Mark Singleton
Call Number: RA781.7 .S568 2010 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Sculpting Her Body Perfect - Brad Schoenfeld
Call Number: GV482 .S37 2008 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Weight Training for Life - James L. Hesson
Call Number: GV546 .H48 2005 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Fit Way of Life - Gwen Robbins; Debbie Powers
Call Number: RA781 .R584 2009 (General Collection)


Cover Art
ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness and Health - Barbara Bushman
Call Number: RA781 .C575 2011 (General Collection)



 

Meal Preparation Books

Cover Art
Techniques of Healthy Cooking - Culinary Institute of America Staff
Call Number: TX820 .T384 2013 (Oversize Collection)




Cover Art
How to Cook Everything: The Basics - Mark Bittman
Call Number: TX714 .B57316 2012 (General Collection)



Cover Art
7-Day Menu Planner for Dummies - Susan Nicholson
Call Number: TX728 .N53 2010 (General Collection)






Cover Art
The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life - Ellie Krieger
Call Number: TX714 .K75 2008 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Everything Wheat-Free Diet Cookbook - Lauren Kelly
Call Number: RM237.87 .K45 2013 (General Collection)

Cover Art
A Dash of Aloha - Kapiolani Community College
Call Number: TX724.5.H3 D37 2007 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The Hawaii Farmers Market Cookbook - Joan Namkoong
Call Number: TX724.5.H3 H26 2006 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
The Hawaii Farmers Market Cookbook: Volume 2 - Joan Namkoong
Call Number: TX724.5.H3 H262 2010 (Hawaiian Collection)



Cover Art
The Rodale Whole Foods Cookbook - Dara Demoelt
Call Number: TX741 .R624 2009 (General Collection)



Cover Art
Good to the Grain: Baking with Whole-Grain Flours - Kimberly Boyce
Call Number: TX808 .B596 2010 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Asian Tofu: Discover the Best, Make Your Own, and Cook it at Home - Andrea Nguyen
Call Number: TX814.5.T63 N48 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Aloha Tofu Cookbook: Serving Hawaii for 60 Years - Nishimura Peko; Uyehara Misa
Call Number: TX814.5.T63 N57 2011 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
How to Cook Everything Vegetarian - Mark Bittman
Call Number: TX837 .B5284 2007 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Everything Green Smoothies Book - Britt Brandon
Call Number: TX840.B5 B69 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Nobu's Vegetarian Cookbook - Nobu Matsuhisa
Call Number: TX837 .M396 2011 (General Collection)


Cover Art
What to Eat During Cancer Treatment - Jeanne Besser, et al.
Call Number: RC271.D52 W53 2009 (General Collection)


 

Nutrition Books

Cover Art
Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition - T. Colin Campbell
Call Number: RA784 .C23524 2013 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Edible Structures: The Basic Science of What We Eat - Jose Miguel Aguilera
Call Number: TP248.65.F66 A3813 2013 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Born with a Junk Food Deficiency - Martha Rosenberg
Call Number: RA440 .R665 2012 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us - Michael Moss
Call Number: RA784 .M638 2013 (General Collection)


Cover Art
The Psychology of Eating: From Healthy to Disordered Behavior - Jane Ogden
Call Number: RC552.E18 O47 2010 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Vegetarian Imperative - Anand M. Saxena
Call Number: TX392 .S356 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics - Marion Nestle; Malden Nesheim
Call Number: TX551 .N3977 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals - Michael Pollan
Call Number: GT2850 .P65 2006 (General Collection)


Cover Art
Ancestral Appetites: Food in Prehistory - Kristen J. Gremillion
Call Number: GN799.F6 G74 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Face on Your Plate: The Truth About Food - Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Call Number: TX371 .M37 2009 (General Collection)




Cover Art
Food Rules: An Eater's Manual - Michael Pollan
Call Number: RA784 .P6429 2009 (General Collection)

Cover Art
In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto - Michael Pollan
Call Number: RA784 .P643 2009 (General Collection)

Cover Art
American Diabetes Association Complete Guide to Diabetes
Call Number: RC660.4 .A485 2011 (General Collection)




Cover Art
The Omnivorous Mind: Our Evolving Relationship with Food - John S. Allen
Call Number: TX357 .A453 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
NSCA's Guide to Sport and Exercise Nutrition - Bill Campbell; Marie Spano
Call Number: TX361.A8 N38 2011 (General Collection)
Publication Date: 2011-01-18



Forks Over Knives - Lee Fulkerson, Brian Wendel, John Corry
Call Number: KDVD 236 (AV/Media Collection)


 

Other Books

Cover Art
Adrenaline - Brian B. Hoffman
Call Number: QP572.A27 H64 2013 (General Collection)


Cover Art
The Vegetable Gardener's Guide to Permaculture - Christopher Shein
Call Number: S494.5.P47 S54 2013 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Art of Happiness - Dalai Lama XIV
Call Number: BQ7935.B774 A78 1998 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Science of Yoga: The Risks and the Rewards - William J. Broad
Call Number: RA781.7 .B757 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Simple Self Defense - Jennifer Lawler
Call Number: GV1111.5 .L42 2010 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Angst: Origins of Anxiety and Depression - Jeffrey P. Kahn
Call Number: RC531 .K34 2013 (General Collection)


Cover Art
High-Impact, Low-Carbon Gardening: 1001 Ways to Garden Sustainably - Alice Bowe
Call Number: S494.5.S86 B69 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Unlimited: A Three-Step Plan for Achieving Your Dreams - Jillian Michaels
Call Number: BF637.S4 M496 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem - Naheed Ali
Call Number: RC628 .A433 2012 ()General Collection)
Publication Date: 2012-05-03






Cover Art
Fascial Release for Structural Balance - Thomas Myers; James Earls
Call Number: RM724 .E17 2010 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Deep Tissue Massage: A Visual Guide to Techniques - Art Riggs
Call Number: RM721 .R544 2007 (General Collection)





Cover Art
The Scientific American Book of Love, Sex and the Brain - Judith Horstman
Call Number: BF575.L8 H663 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Men's Health: Body, Identity, and Social Context - Alex Broom; Philip Tovey
Call Number: RA564.83 .M49 2009 (General Collection)

 

Print Magazines & Journals

Find these magazines and journals on the first floor of the library.

Cover Art
Health
Focusing on women's health, topics include: diet, recipes, fashion tips, and dealing with life issues such as stress.

Cover Art
Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews
A quarterly journal published by the American College of Sports Medicine.

Cover Art
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Scientific papers relating to applied physiology, preventative medicine, sports medicine and traumatology, and sports psychology.

 

Additional Links


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip