This is the "Home" page of the "ENG 272M - Lit. of Hawaiʻi, Oceania, & Asia (Dela Fuente)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 272M - Lit. of Hawaiʻi, Oceania, & Asia (Dela Fuente)  

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/eng272M Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ENG 272M Research Challenge

ENG 272M Research Challenge Worksheet (PDF)
Download and save before filling out.

 

Quest 1: Hawaiian Moʻolelo

Find your deity / topic in one of the books below.

Click here for help finding books on the shelf.

Cover Art
Hawaiian Mythology - Martha W. Beckwith
Call Number: GR385 .B43 1970 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Sites of Oahu - Sterling, Elspeth P.; Catherine C. Summers
Call Number: DU628.O3 S8 1993 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Native Planters in Old Hawaii - Handy, E. S.; E. G. Handy; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Dictionary - Pukui, Mary Kawena; Samuel H. Elbert
Call Number: PL6446 .P78 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Publication Date: 1971 edition
Only the 1971 edition includes the "Glossary of Hawaiian gods, demigods, family gods, and a few heroes"

Cover Art
Sites of Maui - Elspeth P. Sterling
Call Number: DU628.M3 S72 1998 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology - Robert D. Craig
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C7 1989 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference-request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Handbook of Polynesian Mythology - Robert D. Craig
Call Number: BL2620.P6 C72 2004 (Reference Collection)

Questions? Contact the Hawaiian Resource Librarian:

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific
 

Quest 2: Find another source


Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books and DVDs at KCC and other UH System Campuses. 
Need help finding books at KCC other UH Libraries?

Cover Art
Ancient Oahʻu: Stories from Fornander & Thrum - Dennis Kawaharada (Editor)
Call Number: GR110.H3 A53 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Māui, the mischief maker - Dietrich Varez; Pua K. Kanahele
Call Number: GR110.H38 V37 1991 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The Legends and Myths of Hawaii - David Kalakaua
Call Number: GR385.H3 K3 1972 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Kamapuaʻa: The Hawaiian Pig-God - Lilikala Kame'eleihiwa
Call Number: GR110.H38 M68 1996 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Legends of Maui: a demi-god of Polynesia and his mother Hina - W. D. Westervelt
Call Number: GR510 .W46 1913b (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Pele Mā: legends of Pele from Kauaʻi - Frederick B. Wichman
Call Number: PS571.H3 B35 no.80 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Akua Hawaiʻi - Armitage, Kimo; Solomon Enos (Illustrator)
Call Number: BL2620.H3 A76 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Folktales of Hawaii - Pukui, Mary Kawena (Compiled by)
Call Number: GR110.H38 P85 1995 (Hawaiian Collection)


Cover Art
Myths and Legends of Hawaiʻi - Westervelt, William D.
Call Number: GR110.H38 W45 2005 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Nā Moʻolelo Hawai'i O Ka Wā Kahiko - Alameida, Roy K.
Call Number: PZ8.1.A42 Mo 1997 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Oceanic Mythology - Roslyn Poignant
Call Number: BL2600 .P6 1967 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Voices on the wind; Polynesian myths and chants
Call Number: BL2620 .P6 L82 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Legends - William H. Rice
Call Number: GR385.H3 R5 1977 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference (Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Pele - Varez, Dietrich; Pua K. Kanahele
Call Number: BL2620.H3 V37 1991 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Pele and Hiiaka - Emerson, Nathaniel B.
Call Number: GR385.H3 E55 1978 (Hawaiian Reference)


Cover Art
Naupaka - Winona Desha Beamer
Call Number: PZ90.H27 B4 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hawaiian Legends of Dreams - Caren Loebel-Fried (Retold by)
Call Number: PZ8.1.L934 Har 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
The Epic Tale of Hiʻiakaikapoliopele - Hooulumahiehie; Puakea Nogelmeier
Call Number: GR385.H3 H66 2006b (Hawaiian Collection)


Cover Art
Hawaiian Legends in English: an annotated bibliography - Amos P. Leib; A. Grove Day
Call Number: Z5984.H38 L48 1979 (Hawaiian Reference)
Includes brief biographies of translators of Hawaiian legends

 

Quest 3: Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to help you locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.   

Search for:

 

appear somewhere in Subject

Print edition also available in the Hawaiian Reference section

Need help? Click here.

 

Quest 4: Ulukau eBooks

Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library

Ulukau.org includes full-text digitized books on Hawaiian culture, history and language. Remember to try your search with and without the diacritics. Need help? Click here.

 

Newspaper & Journal Articles

Cover Art
Papakilo Database
Search Hawaiian-language newspapers (1834-1948) and more.

Cover Art
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922

Cover Art
The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available in full-text online.

Scholarspace
A digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Mānoa community.


Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific

 

Hawaiʻi Place Names

Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books and DVDs at KCC and other UH System Campuses. 
Need help finding books at KCC other UH Libraries?

Also browse this Hawaiian Place Names Resource Guide for more book recommendations.

Cover Art
Place Names of Hawaii - Mary Kawena Pukui; Samuel H. Elbert; Esther T. Mookini
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976 (Hawaiian Collection)
Reference copies also available (Request from Circulation Desk)
ONLINE VERSION
OR Search via Hawaiian Dictionaries Tip: Under CUSTOMIZE SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII


Cover Art
Ancient Sites of Oʻahu - Van James
Call Number: DU624 J36 1991 (Hawaiian Reference-Request at Circulation desk)

Cover Art
Hawai'i Place Names - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: DU622 .C546 2002 (Hawaiian Collection)

Cover Art
Native Planters of Old Hawaii - E. S. Handy; E. G. Handy; Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: GN424 .H3 (Hawaiian Collection)
See pt. 5: Descriptions of areas of habitation on each island.

Cover Art
Olelo No'eau: Hawaiian proverbs & poetical sayings - Mary Kawena Pukui
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983 (Hawaiian Collection)
See p. 344 for Index to Place Names

Cover Art
Hawaiian Surfing - John R. K. Clark
Call Number: GV839.65.H3 C53 2011 (Hawaiian Collection)
Includes historical information on surf spots.
ONLINE VERSION


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip