This is the "Home" page of the "ENG 100 - Op-Ed (Shin)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 100 - Op-Ed (Shin)  

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/eng100-op-ed Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspaper Articles

Logo and link to Honolulu Star-Advertiser at ProQuest
Honolulu Newspapers
(Full-Text articles via ProQuest Database - must be a KCC student, staff, or faculty to access) 

Search full-text articles:

  • Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 7, 2010-current)
  • Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010)
  • Honolulu Star-Bulletin (March 18, 1996-Jun. 6, 2010)

Honolulu Civil Beat online newspaper (current)

Chronicling America (historic newspapers 1836-1922)

Local Online News Sources

Click on individual links below, or search them all at once by using the search bar above.

 

Places + Significance

Diamond Head


\

Kapiʻolani Community College


Haiʻkū Stairs (Stairway to Heaven)


ʻIolani Palace


Mānoa Chinese Cemetery


Pali Lookout


 

Mauna Kea



Kilauea


Sandy Beach Park



Kaimuki High School


Ala Moana


Sandy Beach Park


Road to Hana


Heʻeia Fishpond


Honouliuli Internment Camp


Kukaniloko Birthing Stones


Ulupō Heiau


Maunalua Bay


Bishop Museum


Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve


China Walls


Spitting Caves


Doris Duke's Shangri-La

  • Our Mission (Shangri-La Center for Islamic Arts and Cultures)


Other

  • USS Arizona Memorial, Oʻahu
  • Pearl Harbor, Oʻahu
  • Haleakalā National Park, Maui
  • Na Pali Coast, Kauai
  • Kalaupapa, Molokai
  • Waimea Canyon, Kauai
  • Haleakala National Park, Maui
  • Panaʻewa Rainforest Zoo, Big Island
  • Lahaina, Maui
  • Chinatown, Oʻahu
  • Waimea Bay, Oʻahu
  • Nā Pohaku Ola Kapaemahu a Kapuni, Oʻahu
  • Ka Iwi Coast, Oʻahu
  • Hawaiian Memorial Park, Oʻahu
  • YMCA
  • The Pacific Ocean
 

Non-Profits/NGOs/Community Orgs


Protecting the legal rights of all immigrants and low-income families
http://www.hiappleseed.org/about-us


Creating a world where people catch, serve, and eat sustainable seafood
http://fishrevolution.org/what-we-do/



Want to End Hunger? There's an App for That.
https://www.gocopia.com/#hiw



The people of Hawaiʻi are one ohana. The Hawaiʻi Foodbank provides food so that no one in our family goes hungry. We work to gather food and support from our communities.
http://www.hawaiifoodbank.org/about-us



The Hawaiʻi Chapter of the Sierra Club is actively working to reduce the impacts of global climate change by encouraging the development of clean renewable energy, reducing the use of fossil fuels, and ensuring our fragile native habitat is protected from harm.
http://sierraclubhawaii.org/about-us/



Assorted outreach programs to help people help themselves.
http://helpinghandshawaii.org/programs/



Hawaiʻi Literacy's mission is to help people gain knowledge and skills by providing literacy and lifelong learning services.
http://www.hawaiiliteracy.org/what-we-do/



Drive and inspire change to ensure a living Hawaiian language in Hawaiʻi and beyond.
http://www.ahapunanaleo.org/



Incorporate Native Hawaiian culture into current natural resource conservation practice to build a modern Hawaiian conservation ethic. Provide a policy framework for biosecurity and lines of defense to prevent invasive species introductions to the Hawaiian archipelago.
http://www.hawaiiconservation.org/what-we-do/our-strategy


The HUGS mission is to improve the quality of life for families as they face the emotional and financial hardships of caring for a seriously ill child.
http://hugslove.org/programs/programs-services/



Boys & Girls Club of Hawaii inspires young people to become responsible citizens.
http://www.bgch.com/



Solutions for homeless children
http://www.hawaii-can.org/



North Kohala Community Resource Center, located in Hawi, Hawaiʻi, provides local support, bridges to funding and education for projects that benefit the North Kohala community.
http://www.northkohala.org/



The ʻEwa Beach Community Based Development Organization (dba FORʻEWA Pono) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.  We engage in community development activities primarily within and around ʻEwa Beach to enhance the quality of life of its residents.
http://ewabeachcbdo.org/who-we-are/


The Office of Hawaiian Affairs seeks to improve the well-being of Native Hawaiians.
http://www.oha.org/


The Hawaiʻi Community Foundation invests in people and solutions to benefit every Island community.
http://www.hawaiicommunityfoundation.org/


808 Cleanups is an environmental nonprofit organization empowering communities to restore Hawaiʻi's beauty through decentralized beach, hiking, graffiti, and marine debris cleanups.
https://www.808cleanups.org


Smart Growth America advocates for people who want to live and work in great neighborhoods.
https://smartgrowthamerica.org/tag/hawaii/


Hui o Koʻolaupoko protects ocean health by restoring the ʻaina: mauka to makai.
http://www.huihawaii.org/


Hui Noʻeau Visual Arts Center of Maui is a community based visual arts education organization offering open access to quality arts instruction by teaching artists.
http://www.huinoeau.com/


Hawaiʻi Beach Safety gives beach users timely and accurate information for choosing a beach destination appropriate to their ocean skill level.
http://hawaiibeachsafety.com/


The Ocean Safety and Lifeguard Services Division provides exemplary, world-class lifeguard services for residents and of the visitors to the City and County of Honolulu.
https://www.honolulu.gov/esdosls.html


The Salvation Army, an evangelical part of the universal Christian church, provides food for the hungry, relief for disaster victims, assistance for the disabled, outreach to the elderly and ill, clothing and shelter to the homeless, and opportunities for underprivileged children.
http://www.hawaii.salvationarmy.org/


The Institute for Human Services (IHS) is Oahuʻs largest human servide provider exclusively supporting those who are unsheltered or at-risk of homelessness.
https://ihshawaii.org/


Friends of Haʻikū Stairs is a nonprofit group whose mission is to protect the historic Haʻikū Stairs and its environment for current and future generations.
http://www.haikustairs.org/


Sustainable Coastlines Hawaii is a nonprofit organization that coordinates education programs, public awareness campaigns, and helps others run their own beach cleanups.
http://www.sustainablecoastlineshawaii.org/


Surfrider Foundation is a nonprofit environmental organization that works to protect and perserve the world's oceans, waves, and beaches.  Issues of focus are water quality, beach access, beach and surf spot preservation, and sustaining marine and coastal ecosystems.
http://www.surfrider.org


Friends of Hanauma Bay is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the conservation of coastal and marine environments, emphasizing stewardship of the natural resources of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve.
http://www.friendsofhanaumabay.org/


Historic Hawaiʻi Foundation is a statewide non-profit organization, Historic Hawai‘i Foundation encourages the preservation of historic buildings, sites and communities relating to the history of Hawai‘i.
http://historichawaii.org/


Project AWARE empowers thousands of divers in more than 182 countries to work together for a clean, healthy and abundant ocean planet.  Issues of focus include sharks in peril and marine debris.
http://www.projectaware.org/


Hawaiʻi Peoples' Fund supports passionate, grassroots community groups working for social justice in Hawai‘i.
http://www.hawaiipeoplesfund.org/


Liturgical Publications offers engagement tools and services to help churches create more vibrant church communities.  One service, Weshare Online Giving, makes online giving and event registrations easy for churches. 
http://www.4lpi.com/church-online-giving/


American Veterans Hawaii serves veterans and the active military in procuring their earned entitlements, to promotes Americanism and preserves the freedoms secured by America’s Armed Forces and provides community services that enhance the quality of life for all Americans
https://amvets-hawaii.org/


The National Trust for Historic Preservation protects significant places representing our diverse cultural experience by taking direct action and inspiring broad public support. Places in Hawaiʻi include the Waikiki War Memorial Natatorium, Manoa Heritage Center, and the WWII Valor in the Pacific National Monument.
https://savingplaces.org/


More non-profit options:

http://www.hawaiiseed.org/resources/organizations-2/


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip