Hawaiʻi Creole English Resources - ENG 272B - Multiethnic Literatures of Hawaiʻi (Kanae) - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Books

Huihui: Navigating Art & Literature in the Pacific
Call Number: P301.3.O3 H85 2015 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Living Pidgin: Contemplations on Pidgin Culture by Lee A. Tonouchi
Call Number: PM7891.Z9 H395 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Sista Tongue by Lisa Linn Kanae
Call Number: PM7874.H3 K36 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Pidgin Grammar: An Introduction to the Creole English of Hawaiʻi by Jeff Siegel; Kent Sakoda
Call Number: PE3625 .S24 2003 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Da Kine Dictionary by Lee A. Tonouchi (Editor)
Call Number: PE3625 .T66 2005 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Pidgin and Education: A Position Paper by Da Pidgin Coup
Call Number: PM7874.H3 P5 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference, Ask at Circulation)
Creole Genesis, Attitudes and Discourse by John R. Rickford (Editor); Suzanne Romaine (Editor)
Call Number: PM7831 .C728 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Language and Dialect in Hawaii: A Sociolinguistic History to 1935 by John E. Reinecke; Stanley M. Tsuzaki (Editor)
Call Number: P381.H3 R4 1988 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Da Kine Talk: From Pidgin to Standard English in Hawaiʻi by Elizabeth B. Carr
Call Number: PE3625 C3 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)
Power, Status, and Hawaiʻi Creole English - an example of linguistic intolerance in American history.
Call Number: REPRINT H026.12 (UHM Hamilton Library Hawaiian Collection-Library Use Only)

eBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a full-text collection of over 80,000 books covering all subjects from the world's leading publishers, plus special technology to help you effectively use these online books for research.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Almost 4,000 titles are available online in full-text in EBSCO's eBook Collection, including several books in the successful For Dummies series, and over 300 titles from the University of Hawaii Press. A large collection of publicly accessible eBooks is also included, containing many classic works of literature and history.

Websites

Talking Story about Pidgin: Exploring the Creole Language of Hawai'i

The Charlene Sato Center for Pidgin, Creole and Dialect Studies

Films & Videos

Pidgin: The Voice of Hawaiʻi
Call Number: KDVD 171 (AV/Media Collection, 1st floor)
57 min. Profiles the language of Hawaiʻi's working people in its rise from plantation jargon to a source of island identity and pride.
Also available online via Kanopy Streaming Video.
Ha Kam Wi Tawk Pidgin Yet?
A video ethnography created by Searider Productions of Waianae High School in conjunction with the Charlene J. Sato Center for Pidgin, Creole, and Dialect Studies and Da Pidgin Coup.

The Reading Room (EMC, Leeward CC)
Host Ann Inoshita interviews local authors about their work and creative process. View the Reading Room playlist online via YouTube.

MLA Info and Help Writing Your Research Paper

Questions? Contact the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resources Librarian:

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

Find Newspaper Articles

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Civil Beat (online newspaper)

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Digitized English-language newspapers published in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922.

Find More Articles

Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.

Hawaiʻi & Pacific Journal Index: An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific (Citations Only).

Social Process in Hawai'i: a journal published by the UHM Department of Sociology devoted to social science research on the people and institutions of Hawai`i. Issues from 1936--2007 are available in full-text online.

The Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Available in full-text online

ScholarSpace: The intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community.

eVols: A digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world.

Google Scholar: If fulltext is not available, check the Kapiʻolani CC Journal Collection.

Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles

Need help finding journal articles?

EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost databases cover a wide range of subject areas, including social sciences, health, business, computer science, psychology, religion, education, and more. Over 20,000 journal titles are indexed with the majority available in full text. Start with Academic Search Complete, or select all four databases and click Continue.

Google Scholar

Find more articles by connecting Google Scholar to our library.

JSTOR

JSTOR
Lama Library has access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Lives of Literature. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Aquatic Sciences, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Law, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

ENG 272B - Multiethnic Literatures of Hawaiʻi (Kanae): Hawaiʻi Creole English Resources