HIST 284 - Hawaiian History: Home

Royal Hawaiian Girls' Glee Club. 1930s or 40s. Photo from "An Era of Change: Oral Histories of Civilians in World War II Hawaiʻi"

UHM Center for Oral History Interview Transcripts
Includes interviews from civilians in WWII Hawaiʻi, Hawaiʻi-born Nisei, perspectives on Hawaiʻi's statehood, the 1924 Filipino Strike on Kauaʻi, tsunamis, etc.

Clinton Kanahele Collection (BYU Hawaiʻi)
Interviews with 20 Native Hawaiians on Hawaiian culture, their personal experiences, and history of places in Hawaiʻi. Audio & transcripts in Hawaiian and English.

Korean Oral History Project
Audio recordings of interviews by Daisy Chun for the book, Passages to Paradise: early Korean immigrant narratives from Hawaiʻi

The Hawai'i Nisei Story: Americans of Japanese Ancestry During World War II

Hanashi Oral History Video Archive, Go For Broke National Education Center
Video clips from oral history interviews with Japanese American World War II Veterans; Includes reflections on Pearl Harbor

Thrum's Hawaiian Almanac and Annual
1875-1936. Includes statistical reports on business, population, government, weather and geography. Directories of government, businesses and organizations, and articles on a wide variety of topics.

Hawaiʻi State Archives Digital Collections

The Annexation of Hawaiʻi: A Collection of Documents

Hawaiian Mission Houses & Archives Digital Collection
Journals & letters of Hawaiʻi missionaries, The Friend newspaper (1843-1954), Mission Station Reports (1822-1865), Photographs.

UHM Hawaiian Collection Books & Articles (eVols)

Polynesian Voyaging Society Archives

ʻUluʻulu: Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi

Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives
Kingdom of Hawaiʻi Documents.

Japanese American Veterans Collection
Documents related to the activities of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team during WWII. UHM Archives.

World War II Internment in Hawaiʻi
Primary resources on the Hawaiʻi Japanese American Internment Experience

Hearings on Statehood for Hawaiʻi - 1948
U.S. Senate Hearings

Save Our Surf (SOS) Digital Collection
"Unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement." UHM Digital Collections.

Protect Kahoʻolawe Movement - Video
Archival footage from the early days of the protect Kaho'olawe movement, when Hawaiians called for an end to the bombing of their neighbor island.

Bob Krauss Research Index
An index of English-language newspapers from Hawaiʻi, 1840-1944. Select articles are available online.

Rusty Thomas Menu Collection
Hawaiʻi menus from restaurants, 1946-1982

Tip: Search the libraries/archives' website and online catalog before visiting to save time. Bring quarters to make copies and/or a camera to take photos for free (if allowed).

Hawai'i State Archives
Government archives and special collections. Records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session. Also includes the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, 19th century newspapers.

UH Mānoa Hawaiian Collection
The largest collection of published materials about Hawaiʻi. Includes newspapers on microfilm published throughout Hawaiʻi.

Hawaiian Historical Society
Collection emphasizes history of Hawaiʻi and the Pacific in the 19th century. Collections include early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawaiʻi.

Hawaiian Mission Children's Society Library
Missionary correspondance, journals, and reports.

Bishop Museum Library & Archives
Diverse collections of manuscripts, photographs, artwork, oral histories, sound recordings, and maps about Hawaiʻi chiefs, people, culture, and history. Note: Must make an appointment to visit & research the collection.