HIST 288 - Survey of Pacific Islands History: Home

Selected titles located at Kapiʻolani CC Library.

Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection
Between 1938 and 1939, Oliver conducted research on Bougainville, among the Siwai (a.k.a. Siuai) people. The majority of these images derive from that period, and were donated to the UHM Pacific Collection following Dr. Oliver's death in 2009.

George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia
Photos from throughout Melanesia, on a variety of subjects, taken between 1955 and 1956.

Hawaiian & Pacific Images
These images mostly derive from 18th- through early 20th-century published works that are held in the UHM Hawaiian and Pacific Collections rare vault. A wide variety of images documenting early depictions of Hawai'i and Pacific culture and society.

Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Collection
Documents Dr. Tobin's lifetime of working within the Marshall Islands and Micronesia more generally, beginning in the 1950s and ranging through the 1980s. Includes images relating to nuclear testing and dislocation/relocation of Marshall Islanders. Note: This collection is currently under construction, with more photos to be added over time.

Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaii, 1949-1954
Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, as shot by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory. A good companion to the Trust Territory Photo Archives.

Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak
Photographs by Dr. Robert Kiste and Dr. Leonard Mason, documenting the lives of Bikini and Enewetak islanders in the wake of U.S. nuclear testing program. Photos range from late 1940s through 1980s.

The Pacific in Wartime
Digital reproductions of materials in several distinct art and photograph collections, covering a range of geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, these collections document many facets of life in the Pacific during World War II, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane.

Rapanui: The Edmunds/Bryan Photograph Collection
Early 20th century photos of Rapa Nui (a.k.a. Easter Island), documenting a variety of places and subjects.

Save Our Surf
Unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.

Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection
Documents life on Satawal and surrounding islands/atolls in the early 1980s. Photos are not limited to navigation, and include a great deal of information on day-to-day life.

Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Documents the entire Trust Territory period in Micronesia, via more than 8,000 photos.

Micronesian Seminar Online Photo Collections
Thirty separate photo collections document numerous aspects (and eras) of life throughout Micronesia.

UCSD Melanesian Archive
Nearly 6,500 images. The majority are from the Solomon Islands, but collection also includes images from throughout the Pacific, including the Cook Islands, Fiji, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu. Photos date from the 1930s through 1990s.

Evaluating sources (CRAAP Test)

Requesting additional articles