Home - PACS 108 - Pacific Island Worlds - Kapiʻolani CC Library LibGuides at Kapi'olani Community College

Research Topics

General Information

Food of the Pacific Islands

Pacific Islanders in Hawaiʻi

Find Books & eBooks

How do I find a book in the library?

1. Select a title.

2. If it's a physical book, check the holdings information to make sure it's not checked out.

3. If it's available, email or write down the call number and location. You'll need it to find the book on the library shelves.

4. Locate the book on the shelves. To borrow, take it to the Circulation Desk.

General Information - Books

We are the Ocean: Selected Works by Epeli Hauʻofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection, 1st floor)
Also available online via Ebook Central.
Pacific Nations and Territories by Reilly Ridgell; Keith L. Camacho
Call Number: DU17 .R53 2006 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia by Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000 (General Reference Collection - 1st Floor)
Literature section includes biographies for many Pacific writers.
A History of the Pacific Islands by Steven Roger Fischer
Call Number: DU28.3 .F57 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The A to Z of the Discovery and Exploration of the Pacific Islands by Max Quanchi; John Robson
Call Number: DU19 .Q36 2009 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Includes a table with the name & date of the 1st European visitor to most Pacific Islands.
Tides of History: The Pacific Islands in the Twentieth Century by K. R. Howe; Robert C. Kiste
Call Number: DU28.3 T53 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Countries and Their Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember (Editors)
Call Number: GN307 .C68 2001 v.1-4 (Oversized Collection - 2nd floor)
Pacific Worlds: A History of Seas, Peoples, and Cultures by Matt K. Matsuda
Call Number: DU28.3 .M34 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Also available online from ProQuest.
Historical Dictionary of Polynesia by Robert D. Craig
Call Number: DU510 .C73 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
Also available online from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Historical Dictionary of Guam and Micronesia by William L. Wuerch; Dirk A. Ballendorf
Call Number: DU500 .W84 1994 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Pacific Islands: Environment & Society (1999 ed.) by Moshe Rapaport (ed.)
Call Number: DU18.5 .P33 1999 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)
The Pacific Islands: Environment and Society by Moshe Rapaport (ed.)
Call Number: GF851 .P33 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st floor)

Local News

Honolulu Newspapers (via ProQuest)
Full text access to articles from:
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: 06/07/2010 - Present
Honolulu Advertiser: 01/01/1999 - 06/06/2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: 03/18/1996 - 06/06/2010
Ka Wai Ola
The newspaper of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA). Full access to articles, including back issues. "Browse through 40 years of archives." Various videos included on the site.

Honolulu Civil Beat (online newspaper)

News from the Pacific

News Sources (links from the Pacific Collection at UHM)

Pacific Islands Report
"The East-West Center’s Pacific Islands Report will return in 2020! [...] PIDP maintains the original Pacific Islands Report as a searchable archive of 20 years’ worth of articles, commentary, and reports."

Find Journal Articles Online

Teaching Oceania Series
Available online in full-text via interactive iBook and also in PDF. "Teaching Oceania is a new publication series created with the collaboration of scholars from around the Pacific region to address the need for appropriate literature for undergraduate Pacific Islands Studies students throughout Oceania."
Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
An index to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific; citations only. See the Reference Desk for help locating print issues. See Titles and Coverage for a list of the journals and magazines included.

Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.

The Contemporary Pacific
Call Number: DU1 .C665 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference Collection, Ask at Circulation)
Past issues also available via ScholarSpace from 1989-2020 (online) and via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete from 2003-2022 (online). Current & past issues are available in print at the Library.
The Journal of Pacific History
Call Number: DU1 .J68 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference Collection, Ask at Circulation)
Also available online via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete.
The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Call Number: GN2 .P7 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Reference - Ask at Circulation Desk)
Also available online via The Polynesian Society.
Micronesian Journal of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Available online, full-text. "Dedicated to the study of human thought, behavior, and culture in Micronesia."
Te Kaharoa: the e-journal on Indigenous Pacific Issues
Available online, full-text. "...e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues."
ScholarSpace
An open-access, digital institutional repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community. Publications from the Center for Pacific Island Studies are available here.
eVols
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for material that UH Mānoa digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library initiatives.
Google Scholar
How-to Video for Setting Up & Using Google Scholar [2:20].
Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific
Peer-reviewed electronic journal.

Find Online Help with Citations and References

Sample Annotated Bibliography

Websites - Country Information

Country Profiles (CIA World Fact Book)
SDD: Explore the Statistics of Pacific Island Countries and Territories
Redesigned and will replace the PRISM website (https://prism.spc.int/), which will soon be taken offline.
Maps of the Pacific
A variety of Pacific maps, collected by the University of Texas at Austin Library
Digital Micronesia
Micronesian Seminar
Links to articles, videos, and books.
Public education organization serving the people of the Federated States of Micronesia, the republics of Palau and the Marshall Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
Digital Pasifik
"Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific." Includes images, objects, videos, audio, texts, and maps.

Questions? I can help.

Erica Dias

Email Me

Contact:

Call or email to schedule a Zoom!

(808) 734-9599

Subjects: Hawaii, Hawaiian Language (HAW), Hawaiian Studies (HWST), Pacific Islands Studies (PACS)

PACS 108 - Pacific Island Worlds: Home

eBooks & Streaming Films (click image)