Skip to Main Content

MUSIC: Research, Ethnomusicology, & Hawaii

Before you start finding scholarly articles for your research, watch this video.

Research Articles

JSTOR

EBSCOhost Research Databases (video)

Sample articles:

(Google Scholar: Change the library links settings to connect to our scholarly journal articles (video).
UH Mānoa Library: Non-UHM students can only access the UHM online subscription resources while physically at the UHM campus.

Search smarter with Google (video): Try limiting results to site:.edu and filetype:pdf or intitle:

ScholarSpace at UH Mānoa: Online articles, dissertations, technical reports, multimedia clips, and more from the UHM community.

eVols at UH Mānoa: Materials digitized by UHM, including music recordings, maps, Ka Leo Hawaiʻi (Radio program), research articles, etc.

Streaming Music

Audio Archive
Search the collection to find related sound recordings. Some suggested search terms: "Hawaii" or "Hawaiian."
Sample songs:
National Jukebox from the Library of Congress
Search the collection to find related sound recordings. Some suggested search terms: "Hawaii" or "Hawaiian."
Sample songs:
Hawaiian Music Collection at UH Mānoa
Search the collection to find related sound recordings. Listen to 30 second preview of song.
Sample songs:
International Folk Dance Archive
Browse the collection of 500+ sound recordings of music for folk dancing. Use "control + F" (Windows) or "command + F" (Mac) to search for a specific word, country, genre, etc.

Hawaiʻi

Mele Hula Pahu ResourcesGoogle Doc Icon