Regular Session (Fall/Spring) Library Building Hours:
Monday - Thursday 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Sunday & Holidays CLOSED
Normal Summer Session Library Building Hours:
Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday, Sunday & Holidays CLOSED
Library Website: Selected Resources
Library website at http://library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/
Login from Off-Campus
To connect to any of our Online Databases from you need to Login.
1) Go to Library Website: http://library.kcc.hawaii.edu
2) Select one of our Online Databases
3) You will see the following login page. (You only need to login once per browser session.)
Enter your 8 digit UH Number / Barcode Number from your KCC ID card.
If you do not know your UH Number, you can find it in the upper right of the page after you login to your UH Account.
Enter your Last Name on the next line
If you are having problems with your last name
Single Word Last Name: Louis Tanaka ---> tanaka
Two Word Last Name: Orion Ah Nee ---> ah nee
Clarence Souza Jr. ---> souza jr
Hyphenated Last Name: Sue Wells-Smith ---> wells-smith
Last Name with Diacritics: Nuala O'Brien ---> o'brian
Click on the Login Button to connect to database.
Find Books: Search for books and other materials in KCC Library, UH System Libraries, or other libraries. Browse new KCC books. Find materials in the library on reserve for classes. Search for plays, songs, and videos.
Our online catalog (Hawaii Voyager) used for locating books in Kapiolani Community College Library as well as other Libraries within the UH System.
Searching Other UH Libraries: You have the option to search the entire UH System Libraries for materials that you may not find in KCC Library.
Intrasystem Loan: Borrow circulating books from other UH libraries by requesting on Hawaii Voyager. Get notified via email when requested books arrive at the library. Request articles also. FREE!
Online Books: Search, read, copy, email, and print the full-text of a wide range of books online.
ebrary is a full-text collection of about 78,000 books covering all subjects from the world's leading publishers, plus special technology to help you effectively use these online books for research. You can download parts of the book or the entire book for use for a limited time. LC Call Number search TX341 – TX900
Suggested Search terms: Cookery, Food, Culinary Arts.
Google Book Search: Search for full text books online. http://books.google.com/
Similar to Google Web Search; just enter the keyword or phrase you're looking for into the Google Book Search box. Just below the search box, there is a pull down menu labeled Showing.
You can select All books, Limited preview and full view or Full view only (will show the entire book).
All books: will get you everything - little full text
Limited preview: will get you some current information.
Full view only: will give you full text but mostly historical documents.
Click on a book title and you'll see basic info about the book just like you'd see in an online catalog. You might also see a few snippets - sentences of your search term in context.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Library of Congress Classification System - Subclass TX
SB 351 Herbs
SF 270-274 Cheese, Cheese Making, Milk fat and Yogurt
TP 548 Wine and Wine Making
TX 341-641 Nutrition, Foods and food supply
TX 642-840 Cooking or Cookery
TX 851-885 Dining-room service
TX 901-946.5 Hospitality industry, hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc, food service
TX 950-953 Taverns, barrooms, saloon
TX 955-985 Building operation and housekeeping
The General Collection has most of the resources but you will find other resources in the Hawaiian, Reference and Japan collections – same call number classifications
Selected Chef Biographies
Chefs In Paradise Hawaiian TX724.5 .H3 C44 1994
Chefs Story Reference TX645 A1 C52 2007
Culinary Biographies Reference TX649 .A1 C85 2006
The New Cuisine of Hawaii Hawaiian TX724.5 H3 H46 1994 c.2
You can find more under some of our biographical references and many of the cookbooks from the many of the celebrity chefs have included a short biography about them.
Heather Ho Collection: About 125 culinary books and videos on various culinary topics. Heather Ho who was the executive pastry chef on top of the Twin Towers “Windows on the World Restaurant” who died in the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Center. (Punahou & CIA)
- Goto the Hawaii Voyager
- Type in “kap hhcc” then
KCC Library has over 150 Videos Indexed in Hawaii Voyager
1) Go to http://library.kcc.hawaii.edu/
Under Resources select Find Books
Select KCC Library Catalog
2) Use Basic Search
Under Quick Limits select “Video recording/DVD”
Search for: “Culinary” or any other search term and hit the search button
3) For “Culinary” You should get a list of about 139 videos
Take down the KVTR number of the video that you want to watch and go to the Circulation desk to borrow the video. You will need your KCC ID card.
Some of the recent videos are DVDs from the Culinary Institute of America.
Find Articles: Including Magazines, Journals and Newspaper Articles.
(Mostly Full Text)
Collection of databases (some full-text) with over 20,000 periodical titles are indexed with the majority available in full text. Searching for articles is fast and easy, and many databases are updated daily.
Academic Search Complete: This multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content as far back as 1887.
Business Source Complete: full text for more than 3,800 journals (about 2,000 peer-reviewed titles). More than 820 books, 12,000 case studies, 1.17 million company profiles, 1,200 country and 7,500 industry reports, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus: includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
ProQuest – Honolulu Newspapers
Honolulu Star-Advertiser: ONGOING: June 7, 2010 – Present
Honolulu Advertiser ARCHIVE: November 30, 2002 – May 13, 2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin ARCHIVE: November 26, 1991 – June 6, 2010
Issues and Controversies (Full Text):
Issues & Controversies @ FACTS.com is an authoritative source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated current issues. Each topic combines factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view, plus related chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, contact information, links.
CQ Researcher (Full Text):
CQ Researcher provides original, in-depth, unbiased reporting and analysis on current issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Statista (Full Graphics):
We pride ourselves in being the world’s first and only company to bring together data from over 18,000 sources. Our research analysts source the most up-to-date statistical data from around the globe; our analytical approach and efficient research processes enable us to supply our clients with the data that is relevant to them.
Is a user-friendly online streaming media system including more than 18,014 high-quality educational video titles (242,403 video clips), covering Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science, and Health. All programming includes public performance rights. (Suggested search terms: Culinary, Cuisine, Nutrition, Food Safety)
Magazine (Paper) Resources
Bon Appetit (ISSN 0006-6990) http://www.bonappetit.com
Bon Appetit is America's #1 food and entertaining magazine. You'll enjoy twelve months of great menus, cozy dinners, great advice and much more! Each issue is filled with delicious time-saving recipes, easy and elegant entertaining ideas, world class restaurant dishes made simple, and topped off by wine reviews and recommendations.
Edible Hawaiian Islands (ISSN 0000-0000) http://ediblehi.com/
edible Hawaiian Islands: Six Time Award Winning quarterly magazine, celebrating the abundance of local foods in the Aloha State. Celebrating the Harvest of the Aloha State, Season by Season.
Lucky Peach (ISSN 2325-9140-1) http://luckypeach.com
Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes.
National Culinary Review (ISSN 0747-7716) http://www.acfchefs.org
The official publication of America's largest professional association ACF (American Culinary Federation) of chefs, cooks and pastry chefs. Editorial content focuses on food, trends, techniques, and industry news.
Niponica (English) (ISSN 0000-0000) http://web-japan.org/niponica/
Niponica is a web magazine that introduces modern Japan to people all over the world.
Real Simple (ISSN 1528-1701) http://www.realsimple.com
Life Made Easier Every Day with Real Simple – your source for Real Simple recipes, organizing and cleaning tips, beauty and fashion advice, and ideas for holidays, entertaining, and weddings.
Restaurant Business (ISSN 0097-8043) http://monkeydish.com
Features in-depth coverage and analysis of key issues and trends affecting the food service industry.