This is the "Finding Resources" page of the "ENG 209 - Business and Managerial Writing (Lawhorn)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 209 - Business and Managerial Writing (Lawhorn)  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/content.php?pid=522090 Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books at KCC

Cover Art
Corporate Corruption
Call Number: HF5387 .C66792 2012 (READ Collection)

Cover Art
Ethical Chic: The inside story of the companies we think we love
Call Number: HD2785 .H37 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Brand Turnaround: How Brands Gone Bad Returned to Glory - Karen Post
Call Number: HD69.B7 P647 2012 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Blind Spots
Call Number: HF5387 .B39 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Ethics in Journalism
Call Number: PN4888.E8 G66 2008 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Fit to Bust: how great companies fail
Call Number: HG3761 .P47 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Images That Injure: pictorial stereotypes in the media
Call Number: P96.S74 I45 2011 (General Collection)




Guide Creator Contact Information

Profile Image
Kevin Roddy
Contact Info
808-734-9354
Send Email
 

eBooks at KCC









Cover Art
The Ethics of Sightseeing
Publication Date: 2011





Cover Art
Ethical Leadership
Publication Date: 2007





Cover Art
A Short Guide to Reputation Risk
Publication Date: 2009





 

Books at other UH Libraries

To get books from other UH Libraries:

  1. Go to that library in person, or
  2. Click on "Get This Item" in the library catalog to have books sent to KCC.

Assignment Summary

Remember that your audience is made up of people who are seeking information on how the organization you have chosen dealt with a particular crisis of unethical business behavior.

Answer as many questions for them as you can.
MLA research and documentation style is to be used. You need a minimum of ten solid sources. 

      

    Choosing an organization

    Use Google to find companies with ethics issues - search words used "US companies ethics issues"

    Additional search word might include: Accountability; Management Reputation; liability; trials; litigation; ethics/ethical; business ethics; product liability; consumer fraud; public relations; spin; social responsibility of business; industrial policy.

        

      Annual Reports

      Most companies publish annual reports of earnings, company challenges, and new initiatives. They often contain the mission statement and goals of the company. Access them via Google by entering the phrase "Annual Report" and the name of the company you are researching.

      Here is an example from Apple Computer

          

        Search books and ebooks

        Use ebrary to find ebooks.
        Need help finding ebooks?

        ebrary

         

        Use Hawai'i Voyager to find books.
        Need help finding books at KCC & other UH  Libraries?

         
            

          Issues and Controversies

          Issues and Controversies - Find basic information about your company and ethics issues here.

          Video

          Find videos and articles on Ideas Worth Spreading - TED talks

          Films on Demand - two examples are provided below. When you follow the link look for the highlighted film segment that contains detailed information.

          Cite Your Sources


          Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
          library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip