This is the "Home" page of the "CHEM 161 - Biodiesel" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 161 - Biodiesel  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/chem161biodiesel Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Demo

How are library journal article databases different from using Google?

What do you need?

  • To find research journal articles on a topic, use a library database.
  • To find an article for which you already have the reference, check the KCC Journal Collection to see if it is available online at KCC or other UH libraries.

ScienceDirect

  • Green and orange icons indicate fulltext access; white icon indicate unavailability. Use the date limits if needed. 
  • Review articles provide summary of important articles. Original research articles provide specific details and procedures, suitable for replication.

PubMed Central

  • Open access, full-text available to the public.
  • Use the Citation link to copy the APA reference.

EBSCO Academic Search Premier

  • Try "biomass production" waste cooking oil
  • Use the automatic Cite button.

Google Scholar

  • Go to Settings, click on Library Links, add Kapiolani Community College Library to link to KCC articles.

Sample search string: biofuel production
Use more search words to focus results: biofuel production cooking oil

 

Basic Research Process

1. What are you looking for?

Define your terms and plan your search strategy.

2. Where should you look?

Not all sources are created equal...

3. How do you know if your results are good?

Use the CRAAP Test (no, really)!

4. Who did you get your information from?

Give credit with proper citations.

 

Find Journal Articles

Use these databases to find peer reviewed journal articles:
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect:
    Multi-disciplinary, including 1,000+ chemistry journals.        More ScienceDirect Help
PubMed Central PubMed Central:
    Fulltext access to over 2.6 million articles.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier EBSCO Databases:
    Try Academic Search Premier, Agricola, GreenFILE.
    More EBSCO Help
Logo and link to Science Science:
    Scientific research, global news, and commentary.
    More Science Help
Google Scholar:
    If fulltext is not available, check the
    KCC Journal Collection.
 

Find ebooks

ebrary Search ebrary for full-text online books.

Don't forget to check out the recommended CHEM book lists.

 

Questions?

  joy.oehlers@hawaii.edu
  TXT: 919.695.3688 
  Office: 808.734.9352
  Office: Lama 117


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip