This is the "Home" page of the "PACS 257 - Literature of Oceania" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PACS 257 - Literature of Oceania  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu/PACS257 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books

Search for a book or see below for selected works by and/or about Pacific Island authors.


Use Hawai`i Voyager to find books and DVDs at KCC and other UH System Campuses. See example books below.
Need help finding books at KCC other UH Libraries?

 

Avia, Tusiata

Cover Art
Wild Dogs under My Skirt - Tusiata Avia
Call Number: PR9639.4.A95 W5 2004 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Bloodclot - Tusiata Avia
Call Number: PR9639.4.A95 B56 2009 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

 

Campbell, Alistair Te Ariki

Cover Art
Introducing Alistair Campbell - Peter Smart
Call Number: PR9639.3.C32 Z35 1984 (UH Mānoa Library Pacific Collection-Library Use Only)
Biography

Cover Art
Island to Island
Call Number: PR9639.3.C32 Z35 1984 (UH Mānoa Library Pacific Collection-Library Use Only)
Biography

Cover Art
Pocket collected poems - Campbell, Alistair Te Ariki
Call Number: PR9639.3 .C32 A17 1996 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection-Library Use only)

 

Duff, Alan

Cover Art
Once Were Warriors - Alan Duff
Call Number: PR9639.3.D792 O5 1994 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

 

Figiel, Sia

Cover Art
They Who Do Not Grieve - Sia Figiel
Call Number: PR9639.3.F48 T44 2003 (KCC General Collection)

Cover Art
Where We Once Belonged - Sia Figiel
Call Number: PR9639.3.F48 W48 1999 (KCC General Collection)

 

Fraser, Toa

Cover Art
Two plays - Toa Fraser
Call Number: PR9636.62 .F73 2007 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Grace, Patricia

Cover Art
Baby No-Eyes - Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 B33 1998 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Cousins - Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 C68 1998 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Dogside Story - Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 D6 2001b (General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Tu - Patricia Grace
Call Number: PR9639.3.G7 T8 2004 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Hauʻofa, Epeli

Cover Art
Kisses in the Nederends - Epeli Hau'ofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 K57 1995 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Tales of the Tikongs - Epeli Hau'ofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 T35 1994 (General Collection)

Cover Art
We Are the Ocean - Epeli Hau'ofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 A6 2008 (General Collection)

 

Hereniko, Vilsoni

Cover Art
Donʻt Cry, Mama: a three-act play - Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9 T38 D65 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Last Virgin in Paradise - Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9.H47 L37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)

Cover Art
Two Plays: A Child for Iva, Sera's Choice - Vilsoni Hereniko
Call Number: PR9650.9.H4 T96 1987 (General Collection)

 

Hulme, Keri

Cover Art
The Bone People - Keri Hulme
Call Number: PR9639.3.H75 B6 1985 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Te Kaihau - Keri Hulme
Call Number: PR9639.3 .H75 T4 1987 (UHM, HCC, & WCC Libraries)

 

Ihimaera, Witi

Cover Art
Pounamu, Pounamu - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 P619 1972 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Tangi - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 T3 1989 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
The Uncle's Story - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 U63 2002 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
The Whale Rider - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W489 2003 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Whanau - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W5 1974 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Woman Far Walking - Witi Ihimaera
Call Number: PR9639.3.I5 W66 2000 (General Collection)
A play.

 

Kasaipwalova, John

Cover Art
Hanuabada - John Kasaipwalova.
Call Number: PN6099 .P36 no.27-40 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Poems

 

Kauraka Kauraka

Cover Art
Legends from the atolls - collected, translated and edited by Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: GR385.C6 L44 1982 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Dreams of the rainbow : poems = Moemoea a te anuanua - Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: PR9670.C63 K383 1987 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Manakonako = reflections - Kauraka Kauraka
Call Number: PZ 93B17.26 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Kihleng, Emelihter

Cover Art
My Urohs - Emelihter Kihleng
Call Number: PR9670.M63 K44 2008 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Kneubuhl, John

Cover Art
Think of a Garden - John Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N417 T48 1997 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor

 

Kneubuhl, Victoria N.

Cover Art
Hawai'i Nei - Victoria N. Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N418 H39 2002 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Murder Leaves Its Mark - Victoria N. Kneubuhl
Call Number: PS3561.N418 M88 2011 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

 

Makini, Jully (Sipolo)

Cover Art
Civilized Girl: poems - Jully Sipolo (Makini)
Call Number: PR9670.S63 M35 1981 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Flotsam & Jetsam: a third collection of poems - Jully Makini
Call Number: PR9670.S63 M37 2007 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Marsh, Selina Tusitala

Cover Art
Fast Talking PI - Selina Tusitala Marsh
Call Number: PR9642.M376 F38 2012 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection)

 

McMullin, Dan Taulapapa

Cover Art
Coconut Milk - Dan Taulapapa McMullin
Call Number: PS3613.C58546 C96 2013 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection - 1st Floor)

Cover Art
A drag queen named Pipi, and other poems - McMullin, Dan
Call Number: PS3613.C578 D73 2004 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Mila, Karlo

Cover Art
A Well Written Body - Karlo Mila
Call Number: PR9639.4.M55 W45 2008 (Oversize Collection)

 

Molisa, Grace

Cover Art
Black Stone: poems - Grace Molisa
Call Number: PR9670 K57 M65 1983 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Colonized People: poems - Grace Molisa
Call Number: HQ1867.5 .M65 1987 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Black Stone II: poems - Grace Molisa
Call Number: PR9670.K57 M65 1989 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Petaia, Ruperake

Cover Art
Blue Rain - Ruperake Petaia
Call Number: PR9665.9.P47 B5 1980 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Pillai, Raymond

Cover Art
The celebration : collection of short stories - Raymond Pillai
Call Number: PR9650.9.P55 C4 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Pule, John

Cover Art
The Bond of Time: an epic love poem - John Pule
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .P85 B66 1998 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Rodger, Victor

Cover Art
Sons - Victor Rodger
Call Number: R9642.R673 S65 2007 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Urbanesia : four Pasifika plays
Call Number: PR9636.62 .U73 2012 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)
Contains play "My name is Gary Cooper" by Victor Rodger

Cover Art
DVD: Victor Rodger 2006 Fulbright-Creative New Zealand Pacific Writer in Residence
Call Number: DVD 5358 (UH Mānoa-Sinclair Library)
DVD; Originally broadcast on television program Hawaiʻi Bibliovision

 

Saunana, John

Cover Art
The Alternative - John Saunana
Call Number: PR9670 S63 S38 1980 (General Collection-2nd Floor)

 

Sinavaiana-Gabbard, Caroline

Cover Art
Alchemies of Distance
Call Number: PS3569.I565 A5 2001 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Tutuila Poets: Eti Saʻaga, Caroline Sinavaiana, John Enright.
Call Number: PS574.A5 S23 1990 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection - Library Use only)

Cover Art
Mohawk/Samoa: transmigrations - James Thomas Stevens; Caroline Sinavaiana
Call Number: PS3619.T48 M64 2005 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Subramani

Cover Art
The Fantasy Eaters - Stories from Fiji - Subramani
Call Number: PR9650.9.S84 F36 1988 (KCC General Collection)

Cover Art
Altering Imagination - Subramani
Call Number: PR9650.9.S84 A35 1996 (UHM Hamilton Library Pacific Collection)

 

Sullivan, Robert

Cover Art
Voice Carried My Family - Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S89 V65 2005 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Captain Cook in the Underworld - Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S8 C36 2002 (UHM, UHWO, & WCC Libraries)

Cover Art
Shout Ha! to the Sky - Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9639.3.S88 S56 2010 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Star Waka - Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .S89 S73 1999 (UHM & UHWO Library)

 

Taylor, Grace Teuila Evelyn

Cover Art
Afakasi Speaks - Grace Taylor
Call Number: PR9642.T395 A36 2013 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Poetry

 

Teaiwa, Teresia

Cover Art
Searching for Nei Nimʼanoa - Teresia Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.T43 S43 1995 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Last Virgin in Paradise - Vilsoni Hereniko and Teresia Teaiwa
Call Number: PR9650.9.H47 L37 2001 (Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)

 

Thaman, Konai Helu

Cover Art
Hingano: selected poems, 1966-1986 - Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 H56 1987 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Langakali: poems - Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 L3 (General Collection)

Cover Art
You, the Choice of My Parents: poems - Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: PR9650.9.T5 Y6 (General Collection)

 

Tuwhare, Hone

Cover Art
Deep River Talk: collected poems - Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 A6 1994 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Small Holes in the Silence: collected works - Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 S55 2011 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Piggy-Back Moon - Hone Tuwhare
Call Number: PR9639.3.T8 P54 2001b (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Hone Tuwhare: a biography - Janet Hunt
Call Number: PR 9639.3 .T8 Z66 1998 (UH Mānoa Hamilton Library Pacific Collection)
Biography

 

Vaite, Celestine

Cover Art
Breadfruit - Célestine Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 B74 2006 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Frangipani - Célestine Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 F73 2006 (General Collection)

Cover Art
Tiare in Bloom - Célestine Vaite
Call Number: PR9619.4.V35 T53 2007 (General Collection)

 

Von Reiche, Momoe Malietoa

Cover Art
Tai, heart of a tree: a collection of poems - Momoe Malietoa Von Reiche
Call Number: R9665.9.V65 T3 1988 (General Collection-2nd Floor

 

Wendt, Albert

Cover Art
Ancestry - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 A73 2012 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
Flying Fox in a Freedom Tree - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 F59 1988 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Inside Us the Dead : poems 1961 to 1974 - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 I5 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Leaves of the Banyan Tree - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 L4 1994 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Ola - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 O43 1995 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Sons for the Return Home - Albert Wendt
Call Number: PR9665.9.W46 S6 1996 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

 

Winduo, Steven

Cover Art
The Unpainted Mask: short stories - Steven Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 U57 2010 (KCC Library General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Hembemba: rivers of the forest - Steven Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 H47 2000 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
A Rower's Song - Steven Edmund Winduo
Call Number: PR9655.9.W56 R69 2009 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

 

Find Articles

Use EBSCO Research Databases to find journals, magazines & newspapers.
EBSCO Research Databases
Need help finding journal articles?
Cover Art
The Contemporary Pacific Journal
Search full-text of past issues. Current & past issues are also available in print at KCC Library.

Cover Art
Literary Reference Center
This full text database includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, etc.

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index
Search the Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal Index to find citations to magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi & the Pacific.

Questions?

Profile Image
Annie Thomas
Contact Info
(808)734-9599
athomas@hawaii.edu
office: Lama 114A
Send Email
Subjects:
Hawaiʻi, Pacific
 

Pre & Post Survey

 

Course Reserves

These books have been placed on reserve for your class. Request them at the Circulation Desk. Library use only for up to 2 hours.

Cover Art
Introduction to Literature of Oceania
Call Number: PC 500 (On Reserve-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Island of Shattered Dreams - Chantal T. Spitz
Call Number: PQ3999.S685 I43513 2007 (On Reserve-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
They Who Do Not Grieve - Sia Figiel
Call Number: PR9639.3.F48 T44 2003 (On Reserve-Request at Circulation Desk)

Cover Art
Tales of the Tikongs - Epeli Hau'ofa
Call Number: PR9655.9.H38 T35 1994 (On Reserve-Request at Circulation Desk; 2nd copy in General Collection)

 

Reference

Cover Art
The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia - Brij V. Lal; Kate Fortune
Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000 (Reference Collection)
Literature section includes biographies for many Pacific writers

Cover Art
Indigenous Literature of Oceania - Nicholas J. Goetzfridt
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995 (On Reserve-request at Circulation Desk)
Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.

Cover Art
Writers from the South Pacific - Norman Simms
Call Number: Z4501 S57 1991 (Reference Collection)
Brief biographies on Pacific Island authors. Includes selected photos.

 

Anthologies

Cover Art
Nuanua - Albert Wendt (Editor)
Call Number: PR9645.8 N83 1995 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor & On Reserve)

Cover Art
Whetu Moana - Albert Wendt (Editor); Reina Whaitiri (Editor); Robert Sullivan (Editor)
Call Number: PR9645.65 .W48 2003 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Mauri Ola - Albert Wendt; Reina Whaitiri; Robert Sullivan
Call Number: PR9670.P652 M38 2010 (KCC General Collection-2nd floor)

Cover Art
Voices of the Pacific : a celebration of diversity
Call Number: PN6120.2 .V64 1999 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

Cover Art
Hoʻolauleʻa: Celebrating Ten Years of Pacific Writing
Call Number: PR9645.5 .H66 2012 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st Floor)


Cover Art
A Pacific collection : readings for civic reflection
Call Number: PR9670.M622 .P34 2011 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)
Includes work by Emelihter Kihleng, Ruperake Petaia, Robert Sullivan, and Teresia Teaiwa

 

Pacific Island Literature - History & Criticism





Cover Art
Indigenous Literature of Oceania - Nicholas J. Goetzfridt
Call Number: PN849.O26 I53 1995 (On Reserve-request at Circulation Desk)
Includes indexes to title, author, subject and literary critics.

Cover Art
South Pacific literature : from myth to fabulation - Subramani
Call Number: PR9645 S8 1985 (KCC General Collection-2nd Floor)

The Culture within: essays on Ihimaera, Grace, Hulme, Tuwhare - Judith Panny
Call Number: PR 9629.6 .P36 1998 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
From Silence to Voice: the Rise of Maori Literature - Paola Della Valle
Call Number: PR9625.5.I34 V35 2010 (KCC Hawaiʻi & Pacific Collection-1st floor)

Cover Art
'My Mother Was the Earth, My Father Was the Sky': myth and memory in Maori novels in English - Nadia Majid
Call Number: PR9625.5.I34 M35 2010 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection)

Cover Art
Readings in Pacific literature - Paul Sharrad (editor)
Call Number: PR9645 .R43 1993 (UHM Hamilton Library-Pacific Collection & WCC Library)


Kapi'olani Community College Library  •  4303 Diamond Head Road  •  Honolulu Hawai'i 96816
library.kapiolani.hawaii.edu  •   Reference: 808-734-9359   •   Circulation: 808-734-9268   •   Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip